Life, Lemons & Handgrenades: a spiritual detour in the great Canadian North

in #mountains7 years ago (edited)

This past year has been a roller coaster.

I was dumped out of a four year relationship (over the phone, fucker) moved apartments, quit my job, partied with some whiskey experts in Chicago then spent the summer off the grid in British Columbia hiking mountains--because everything else sounded dull.

The takeaways?

Mice can get ANYWHERE, Germans are EVERYWHERE, love is inevitable and when life throws you lemons and hand grenades, make some bomb ass lemonaide, sit back and enjoy the shit show.

Cheers.

Real Krab Smells Like Death, Literally? | Bella Coola, BC, The Wharf

P_Tr_BC_Bella Coola_07.31.17-357.JPG
Relaxing in a hotspring | Bella Coola, BC

P_Tr_BC_Bella Coola_07.31.17-435.JPG Bella Coola Inlet, BC

P_BC_Travel_Vancouver_10.02.17-330.JPGPotato Mountain, Tataloyoko Valley | British Columbia

P_BC_Travel_Vancouver_10.02.17-698.JPG Daddy Issues | Posing with the Pops, Potato Mountain after a snowfall, BC

P_BC_Travel_Vancouver_10.02.17-406-Pano.JPG Such Great Heights | Chilko Lake from a charter plane, BC

I Made My Legs Tanner to Look Like the Girls on Instagram | Chilko Lake, The South End, BC

P_Tr_BC_Bella Coola_07.31.17-242.JPG Chasing Waterfalls | Odegaard Falls, BC

Lilooet Glacier | Near Squamish, BC

Watch Your Step | Potato Mountain Trail, BC


My Only Shot of the Northern Lights (hint: it's underwhelming) | Chilquoet Lake, BC

I Fell in Love, and He Took a Picture; Bear Watching | Chilko River, BC

mariaharianna.com | @mariah.arianna

Sort:  

Fantastic pictures! I haven't been out to BC in almost 30 years (and I was only 7 at the time), so these are a fantastic way for me to enjoy the splendour of the rockies! Thank you!

Oh, but thank YOU! This area of BC is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen. If you're ever able to go back up that way, I highly recommend taking a trip to this area about 3 hours west of Williams Lake. It's in a region called the Chilcotin and the valleys and alpine lakes are truly stunning and because this land is still so wild and pure, you're usually the only one there...

As a side, this range of mountains is actually part of Canada's coastal range--geographically separate from the Rockies! I didn't know that either until I was there all summer. They are separated by about 600 miles and part of a totally different tectonic structure. Most people make that generalization but the Rockies are in fact much further inland!

I'll be posting much more of this content in the next few weeks, as well as my upcoming adventures in Hawaii so if you're interested, check back in or follow!

Cheers,
M