Black Panther Worth The Hype..

in #movie6 years ago

Black_Panther_film_poster.jpg

So finally the movie Black panther is out,
And a lot of reviews and critics are up already,

First of all, I grew up on marvel comics and then graduated to the animation series when these came out on TV. Anyone who knows me, knows I love animation and I am an absolute ponzi with them... From marvel, I had my favourite superheroes, Captain, America, the green man(Hulk), Daredevil, Wolverine, Thor, Spiderman, Wonder Woman, Superman, Batman, Black Panther, Storm.. I was Storm in my mind’s eye for the longest time in my growing years.. She was beautiful and that white mane? OMG !!!!
Of these though, black panther was one of the ‘less’ prominent superhero.
So when after the animation series Producers began to churn out adaptations, I looked at these with suspicion.. like enough already!!!.. How many times and in how many ways can you tell the story of these superheroes without boring the Dickens out of us! I have since eaten my words literally. This is due to the all time wonder that is Black Panther!!!!!

Cast

_20180218_145456.JPG

An absolute star studded almost melanin cast. The strength of this cast grips you. From T’Challa aka Black panther played by the indefatigable Chadwick Boseman, Micheal B Jordan bringing the roof down as Erik and Forest Whitaker as Zuri to Strong female characters like Nakia (Black Panther’s love interest), Okoye (the general) and Pamonda
(the queen mother) played by Lupita Nyong’o, Danai Guriri and Angela Basset respectively. Not to take from the riveting performances of white actors Andy Serkis as Klaw and Martin Freeman as Everett Ross. Even the lesser characters gave a great performance.

_20180218_152455.JPG

Story
Set in the idyllic African nation of Wakanda, this is the story of T'Challa who returns home uppn the death of his father (in Captain America-the wars) to take his rightful place as king. This is a story of how this young king, is tested and must overcome all including defeating a very powerful enemy, his own cousin Erik to maintain the fate, power and the wealth that rests within Wakanda. This story squeezed everything into it. It had love, loyalty to monarchy, betrayal, dignity, Nubian strength, pride, determination and courage.

MLD-09684_R-615x410.jpg
A movement?
I believe this movie begins a cultural consciousnesses movement. It explores the true meaning of being a person of colour. For once and at the instance of black director Ryan Coogler, a film leaves that projection of Africa as a ‘land’ of mishap with a stereotypical view of diseases, poverty, death and deception to show a feel good notion of Africa as a land of several nations, rich in integrity, technology and mineral resources (the presence of Vibranium). It recognises the problems of that continent (the sambisa forest and the abducted girls), but It also urges every African to stand up, take a bow and be counted like the superhero that T’Challa, the Black Panther is.

I felt absolutely proud of my heritage as African and with faith renewed that as long as films like these can be produced, our youth will feel like I did and have a fighting chance to debunk these stereotypes that they face daily,
the world over..

If you have not yet seen this film, it is an absolute must watch!

My summary, it was well worth the hype!!!!
Source

Sort:  

I look forward to seeing the film!