So... The Way of Water...

in #movielast year

image.png

It's good.

I'll start with that. It's a good movie. It's not like I'm gonna beg James Cameron to take another twelve dollars of my money so I can see it again, in theaters, in 3D. Still, it was good.

From a technical perspective, I'm happy to say that the HFR converted to 24fps was never too offensive.

Some of the visuals were spectacular. Really, I am able to say that I came out of the movie mystified about how they did some of the shit that I saw; but, I'm still in a bad place here. Namely, I know how a lot of stuff gets done on movie sets. I've gotta think that a lot of the audience doesn't appreciate the mystery of how it was done. The moment computers become involved, the magic doesn't seem to be there for the general audience anymore.

Story-wise, I don't think that the movie surpassed the last one. Really, there are more gaping holes in this movie than there were in the first. There were significantly more moments when I was thinking, "Wait, why is this person doing this right now?"

Do I recommend it; well, yeah, it was good. If you liked the first movie, you should see this one. It's simply not a masterpiece.

Also, bring back the intermission. I needed to pee something fierce at around the 145 minute mark.