The Wizard of ....Ounces?

in #movie6 years ago (edited)

239EC1B2-921B-46D1-9B04-A3484A97E760.jpeg
Image source: Google images

Who doesn’t love the Wizard of Oz? Nearly everyone has seen this movie and there is something for everyone in this classic story.

There have been all kinds of wild rumors about the Wizard of Oz and some interesting interpretations as well.

One of the most interesting things is that in the novel The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum, Dorthy’s shoes are actually SILVER rather than ruby.

Some researchers believe that there are allusions to gold and silver, the bimetallic standard, and symbolism involving the political movement of the Silverites ( the Silverites sounds funny... but it’s a thing! https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silverite).

Here is a brief explanation from Wikipedia:

E454A25A-7D2E-4116-8BF2-14A0FA74041A.jpeg
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Political_interpretations_of_The_Wonderful_Wizard_of_Oz

I’m not much for conspiracy theories, and even though I REALLY want to believe this, I’m not totally convinced. It is tempting to read a lot into this movie, and there is endless entertaining speculation on Youtube (don’t they know about Dtube???) on various theories on symbolism in this film.

Can any Steemians provide some more insight into this?

Does the yellow brick road mean anything?

Is the emerald city related to “greenback paper money?”

It’s hard to imagine that Baum thought of all this before he wrote the book as he would have no idea of the popularity of that the film would have later or that there even WOULD be a film.

I would love to hear insights from Steemians on this. Is there any evidence based theories that prove that this:

49B5680D-2EBF-47FC-BC7E-6F2B10C55549.jpeg
Image source: Huffington Post

Is symbolic for this:

5CCA3723-0D5A-485D-A2EB-3E667E589F3D.jpeg
Image Source: Goldmoney Instagram

What would the Wizard of Oz say about Steemit and Proof of Brain? We don’t have to wonder....

“Why, anybody can have a brain. That's a very mediocre commodity. Every pusillanimous creature that crawls on the Earth or slinks through slimy seas has a brain. Back where I come from, we have universities, seats of great learning, where men go to become great thinkers. And when they come out, they think deep thoughts and with no more brains than you have.”

Thanks for reading everyone!

For Menē 24k investment jewelry here: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

Goldmatters

Menē crafts 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry™ that is transparently sold by gram weight. By combining innovative technology with timeless design, Menē restores the ancient tradition of jewelry as a store of enduring value.

To find out more about what Menē 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry is from your fellow Steemians :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-is-mene24k-35-well-researched-blog-style-essays-contest-winners
Or
https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/what-is-mene-24-karat-platinum-and-gold-jewelry-valentine-s-day-gift-winner

To find out more about what Goldmoney is from your fellow Steemians : https://steemit.com/contest/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-s-goldmoney-winners

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

For Menē 24k investment jewelry here: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary. Goldmoney allows individuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

Read more about Goldmoney: https://steemit.com/@goldmatters

Sort:  

The boots are silver, the path is gold and the city is emerald. Silver. Gold. Emerald. I think it referred to gems and that is how I have always interpreted the tale. I don't think I have paid much attention to the movie, but I sure did love the story. My grandma used to read it to me a lot.

So, going back to the topic - to have the wonderland it must be spectacular, hence, the gems, like silver, gold and emerald. There could be another theory - to spark interest in kids, you add colours and infuse the imagination and paint everything in bright beautiful colours. How about that?!

That sounds great! Thanks for weighing in:)

Here is another good write up on the Wizard of Oz mystery. Pretty intriguing.

http://www.usagold.com/gildedopinion/oz.html

Good reference!!

Definitely got me thinking I haven't heard that theory before but I must say that I like it! I'll be reading this one to the kids at bedtime tonight! :-)

Thanks for reading! Its really all quite entertaining :)

Very interesting. I think the silver slippers made sense at a time when every American had some silver in their possession. Also I think the cowardly lion was a reference to William Jennings Bryan. Good article.

Thats right! Good research

I had no idea about these links and conspiracy theory linked to the film. I'm going to have to do some digging, I love this stuff. I'll get back to you if anything turns up.

Let me know!! Its a really fun theory for us gold and silver guys :)

Nice fresh angle GM! I love it 😻👍

I hope its true lol!

This is the first I've heard of any double meaning for the classic tale. I'll definitely look into it for fun. Thx for the story 👍😎

Check it out man! Its a fun theory:) even if its not true its really interesting

I love The Wizard Of Oz wow.. so much that i didn't know about that movie... makes me want to watch it again! :)

I bet you have done a great rendition of Somewhere Over the Rainbow! :)

It's one of my favs to sing! actually might do a live version today :D your post inspired me hehe

This is a cool analogy. Wizard of Oz (Ounces) sounds way better. That is an impressive road of gold blocks though, nice to have a stack like that.

Even the idea of the wizard behind the curtain pulling strings representing the central financial 'experts'. Half the time that is all they do is pull meaningless strings and create false confidence in the system.

Even when the gold standard was in place many believed that the greenback was not suitably backed by enough gold.

Whether the analogy is true or not, I think it is awesome. Nice post @golmatters, getting us thinking.

Thanks for checking it out:)

You have really done well about #goldmoney awareness and spreading the good news about gold money and mene 24karat... I can assure you that the news about goldmoney has spread over 95% through out the world it was so amazing that any app i open on my phone advertise mene 24karat...kudos to you at #goldmatter spreading the world about #goldmoney #mene #24karat

I appreciate the support

Great one post..
24k investment jewlery is best..
Go ahead and determine to your mission...i hope you will success

Good content from you @goldmatters

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary.

In fact you have done a great job about spreading #goldmoney and #Mene the news has been spread through out the global good orientation from you @goldmatters weldone for the great work... Awareness is still ongoing through steemians devices...

great work and is a golden story thanks for sharing you always come with a great contents keep it up Thanks for sharing i always try to read your post hope you also visit my blog thanks

Thank you for reading!

Hey @ goldmatters, great post the gold story! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work!
It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

Thanks for reading

Excellent story .I alwys see your post and follow your dear.

This post has received a 12.93 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @goldmatters.

Thanks booster

Beautiful

Thanks

welcome

boss How are you