My favorite rom-com movies

in #movie3 years ago

There are a few Rom-Com movies which I like to watch more than once and if I have free time. You might wonder why I prefer Romantic comedies to serious ones. Basically, I am a person who likes feel-good movies and not horror, action, sad, and stereotype masala movies. That may be the reason why I avoid watching movies from the Bollywood genre except maybe a few here and there.

It does not mean I hate Indian movies or actors. I do like certain actors who I feel can do much more if given a chance. For example, take the case of Madhuri Dixit. She is a very good actor and if given a chance to act in a world-class movie. she would have put the co-actors to shame. Imagine Madhuri playing the role of Elizabeth Bennet for example. Likewise the late Sanjeev Kumar who used to be a great character actor.

Okay, back to my list of favorite rom-com movies

It is a random list and not in any order.

Crazy Rich Asians


source

I won't go into the story because you must watch it if you have not already. It is really entertaining and although it is just about a couple who have to face hurdles from the family, it is also about showing how the family works out and the role it plays in a person's life out here in Asia.

The Holiday

When Cameron Diaz and Kate Winslet act together in a movie that centers around the theme of heartbreak, you must watch it. Two complete strangers exchange their homes for a holiday which is really an escape from reality but find new hope and love and decide to stay one. This one is also a must-watch and I am sure you will love to watch it. They are supported by talented male actors, Jack Black and Jude Law.


source

Mamma Mia

81BVYpNUBeL._SL1500_.jpg
source

Have you heard the music of ABBA?

I grew up hearing ABBA songs and I am still a fan of the group. When I came across this movie which is the story of a young girl who is going to get married and wants her real dad to give her off, I wanted to watch it and was not disappointed. This movie reminds you of the musical classics. The situations in the story have been written so as to incorporate some of the hits of the group. It is really entertaining to watch Meryl Streep and her antics.

The other woman

This movie was recommended by my nephew. It is about three women who are cheated by the same man but later come to know about it and join forces to find the truth and kick him out.

source

What I like about this movie is that there is no place for mushy stuff and the three ladies become stronger and plot to find the truth and have the guts to show the guy for what he is instead of begging him to return or having spite for the other two ladies. A girl power movie, for sure.

I am sure I can go on with a list but I think this is enough for now. Do let me know if you have watched these and what you think of them.

CineTV@1.5k.png

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Interesting choices! I would be highly suspicious of anyone who doesn't like a good #RomCom, honestly! A few of my favourites are "Serendipity" (with John Cusack and Jeremy Piven) and "Meet Bill" (with Aaron Eckhart), which is admittedly a bit of an odd-- but totally worthy-- choice. Thanks for the suggestions, @sayee! :)

Wow, I have to check those out. Thanks :)

Congratulations @sayee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!