Favorite Movie Scenes #5 - Last of the Mohicans

in #movie6 years ago

SPOILER WARNING:This post assumes you have seen the movie before, so if you haven't seen it, this will ruin it for you!

I had a hard time deciding exactly where to start this scene, because the movie flows from one scene to another so well. Luckily, this was decided for me by the only video I was able to find to share. Can't argue with the timing here ;>

This is a beautiful movie. It is well shot, with every frame perfectly composed. The score evokes the exact emotion towards the scene. And like I said, it flows well. The slow parts of the movie work.

I have never danced with a woman to this score...I have no idea where a venue for this would be, but it is on the bucket list.

Now, I have never read Cooper's novel, but this is one of the few cases I would be willing to put the movie over the book!

When Uncas kills the first guy, he shows us how to do it. Drive hard and full through the critical point, and keep moving.
Did I tell you the story about how I almost butt-stroked an old lady while I was on guard duty? ;>

Did you see the look on Magua's face when Alice decided she'd rather be a broken jar of strawberry jam on the rocks below than be his bride?

What about the look of contempt that Chingachgook had for Magua before he wound up to bat 400?
As many times as I have seen this movie, I keep expecting to see Magua get punted off the cliff with that swing.

Magua is a bad ass

Since the last two comments were at Magua's expense, let's look at him a bit. He is primarily motivated by revenge, but it is his ability as a warrior that drives the movie. He can't even stomach the idea that duty comes after comfort in his enemies!

Magua understands that the white man is a dog to his women. When they are tired, he puts down his tomahawk to feed their laziness.

Dumbass interpretations

Uncas dies to protect the white race

For g*d's sake; Uncas went to protect his brother. Liberals have to insert their race-driven idiocy into everything.

Other shootings to save loved ones.

  • Ash shooting Shu-Shu in The Far Pavillions for Anjuli's benefit.
  • Holman shooting Po-Han to end his torture by the Communists in The Sand Pebbles

One last quote from the movie

I believe they set aside their law when and as they wish. Their law no longer has rightful authority over us. All they have over us then is tyranny. And I will not live under that yoke.
Jack


Follow my curation trail, More Info



My Books


Join our @informationwar Curation Trail

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 7,500 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission
  • Join our discord and chat with 250+ fellow Informationwar Activists
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here
  • My INDEX of informationwar writing