7 Days in Hell (2015) - A Movie Review and Homage

in #movie7 years ago (edited)

I was looking around online for a movie to watch, and saw the title and poster (not the image below, and much smaller) for the movie, 7 Days in Hell.

I used to play tennis a lot in school, so I was immediately curious, given the title. I was skimming the synopsis, so I what I got from it was "documentary", Wimbledon 2001", and "match that took seven days". Now I was excited. I couldn't believe that I hadn't heard about this back when I was playing. I tried to Google some more information about the match, but couldn't find anything.

Confused, I went back to the page, and saw the name of one of the actors: "Andy Samberg". Ahh...now it made sense. Now I was excited for a different reason.

I don't know how many of you used to watch Christopher Guest movies, but I thought most of them were masterpieces..."Spinal Tap", "Waiting for Guffman", "Best in Show", "A Mighty Wind"...actually, those are probably all the ones I saw. Anyway, I think that's most of them. And even though this is a cliche, it really applies here: If Christopher Guest didn't invent the mockumentary comedy format, he certainly perfected it. It's also amazing that almost all of them are basically improv. For example, the filming of one of his movies, "Spinal Tap", had produced over 50 hours of improvised footage, which Guest had to go through to find the best clips to use, and piece together an 80 minute movie from. [1]

I'm definitely not as up-to-date with movie trends as much as I wish I could be, so I can't be sure, but it seems like the mockumentary genre has either died off or gone very quiet in the past few years. Anyway, I can't say that it bothered me much, or that I even noticed. It's possible that I'd simply gotten my fill after a decade of "The Office" and "Parks and Recreation", both of which I enjoyed at times.

Still, I've found "Andy Samberg" to be consistently hilarious ever since "Jizz In My Pants", so even though I didn't mourn the decline of mockumentaries in the past few years, the combination of both these elements were enough that I found myself smiling in anticipation.

I assumed that the comedy in this movie wouldn't be as subtle as Christopher Guest's (not that they're incredibly subtle or anything), because, well, Andy Samberg. So my expectations for the movie can be summed up eloquently by a quote from Mike Tyson, from Season 2, Episode 1 of his animated television series, "Mike Tyson Mysteries":


"Oh, that is low brow. It's funny as shit, but it's low brow."

Luckily for me, I happen to enjoy lowbrow humor immensely. And I was not disappointed. Off the top of my head, I can't really think of any major flaws. Yes, there are predictable bits and parts, but the over-the-top performances prevent them from being annoying at all. The celebrity roles were very good, and actually added a lot to the movie (John McEnroe is surprisingly good at this!). Some of them, more unexpected/unrelated than others :

A lot of the little details were done very well, like the tennis scenes, which looked very realistic, just like real tennis coverage. And the pacing fits the movie very well, starting strong and in-your-face with its brand of humor, and progressively builds to levels of absolute absurdity all through the movie right to the very end.

I guess the only disappointment would be the surprising and unusual length of the film, which is less than 40 minutes. On the other hand, during the entire movie, it really felt just right, as I was completely engaged and thoroughly entertained. If you don't expect too much out of it, I think you'll enjoy this short movie if you're at all a fan of either Andy Samberg or mockumentary comedies, or are looking for a quick . Besides, it's only 40 minutes--just go watch it! If you're still not convinced, try the trailer below:

Good times!

source:

  1. http://variety.com/2014/film/news/christopher-guest-this-is-spinal-tap-at-30-1201312058/
Sort:  

Good selection, thanks

Hah, yea, this movie was hilarious!

I agree

Thanks for the selection and upvotes curie!

Congratulations @vixvixvix!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 3 with $ 222,07

hey lets help each other . u follow me and vote my post and i will follow u and vote your post.

heh i'll follow you, but you know that doesn't help much right? it's a lot easier to just actually make real posts and talk to people.

Congratulations @vixvixvix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey, I know how you feel. I've been through similar situations. Steemit might actually be able to help, but you need to start writing and posting. Look at the posts with high payouts, and think about why they get so many upvotes. They're all engaging and entertaining in some way, and you can probably do that too. There are lots of groups on steemit that help good writers and content creators get noticed, so if you keep it up, they'll find you eventually. Goodluck sir, hope everything works out.