Movie Review: "Brawl in Cell Block 99" (no spoilers)

in #movies6 years ago

brawlincellblock99.jpg

7.5/10

I have to say that I was shocked and blown away at how violent this movie is. I was even more shocked to see Vince Vaughn in a role like this. I honestly thought as an actor that his range was somewhat limited and quite monotone. In this movie he is still monotone but does a great job bringing raw brutality to the screen. The movie has a very basic plot. Bradley(Vaughn) is an ex-boxer who is going through some tough times financially and can't seem to catch a break. He turns to working for a drug kingpin which eventually gets him put into prison. Once in prison he has to use his boxing skills to survive and find a way to protect his family. You kinda feel sorry Bradley as he seems like a nice guy who can't catch a break. I mean almost everything goes wrong for the guy. The movie really starts to take off while he is in prison. The movie has some incredibly violent fight scenes. The amount of blood and bone breaks are off the charts. I thought being curb-stomped was bad but they take it to another level in this flick. If you are squeamish you may want to skip this one. The pace of the movie is good and with no boring sections. I think everyone will be pleased with Vaughn's performance. He takes his character through a very dark journey and he does everything he can to survive and protect his family. You will definitely find yourself cheering for him even though he puts a serious hurting on a lot of people. All in all I was entertained and I think the majority of others that like action and violence will be too.