You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Movies] Stephen King's The Tommyknockers Coming To The Big Screen

in #movies6 years ago

I didn't even realise the running man was a king one! Makes so much sense, and I do love The Stand.

Dark Tower has been on my reading list too, I'd read most of his "classic" works but I stopped before getting to the newer stuff. There's also a sequel to The Shining, which I didn't know until recently and really want to read, I think it's called Dr Sleep.

Maximum Overdrive is a pretty bad movie, it's the only one King demanded to be involved with and well... let's just say I think a lot of cocaine was involved behind the scenes. I think bad is probably the wrong word actually, but some the his movie adaptations turned out less than you'd have hoped I think. I know he wasn't a fan of Kubrick's The Shining, but it's one of my favourites. There's a few cheesey-ish ones like The Langoliers, The Night Flier and Sleepwalkers oh and there's Dreamcatcher which I actually really really enjoyed, it was far better than I'd expected.

The fact that most of his stories are interwoven was something I only learnt recently, with the Dark Tower connecting them all. Maybe I should go back to the start and read everything from start to finish.