Joker Origin Movie In The Works--With Martin Scorsese To Produce & Todd Philips To Direct!!!!

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

Hi movie marauders! The beloved Batman villain will be getting his own spin-off film, but will have nothing to do with the DC Extended Universe (which includes Man Of Steel, Batman v. Superman, Wonder Woman, Suicide Squad, Justice League, etc). This origin story will feature a new actor (NOT Jared Leto) playing The Joker, and will have Todd Philips (dir. of The Hangover) to direct/co-write, Martin Scorsese (dir. of Raging Bull) to produce, and Scott Silver to co-write. Let's talk more about if this movie is needed and what my (movie marauder's) thoughts are about this news!!

Is A Joker Origin Story Needed?

No. 

Sure, the people involved with making the movie make it sound a lot better. Although I'd rather DC explore a different character. Don't get me wrong, The Joker could be interesting to do, but I am also fine with not knowing his backstory. This film will take place in Gotham in the early 1980s. It is supposed to have a gritty and crime feel to it. I am just not sure how this movie will have a complete plot and be able to assess how The Joker became who he is.

A younger Joker is going to be cast, and he has to really be the character (like Heath Ledger). The Joker is extremely hard to play because he has so many layers to him. He is such a complex villain that I worry it won't be what we want it to be, and The Joker will be ruined. I don't have a problem with DC having separate spin-off movies, its just that I want a new villain/hero from the universe to be explored.

If you enjoyed this article and want more content like this everyday--follow me @moviemarauder and upvote this post!!!

Thanks for reading! Check out some of my other articles by clicking the links below