Men In Black Spin-Off Will Not Feature Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

Hi movie marauders! Men In Black is a great franchise that began in 1997. There have been 3 films from the Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones storyline. Well, now a new generation will be dressing up in all black. A Men In Black spin-off is in the works at Sony. It is planned to be released May 17, 2019. Currently, there is no director attached to this film. Men In Black is one of the many source materials being used by Sony.

Sony and Marvel created Spider-Man: Homecoming,  the Venom Movie is in production, Silver & Black (of the Spider-Man universe), etc. Sony is just trying to get in the game and just keep pumping out movies. Men In Black is such an interesting and creative universe, so I hope this spin-off doesn't fail (especially without Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones). If any of you are wondering about the 21 Jump Street/Men In Black spin-off, well that is not in production right now. But don't worry, the idea is still there and maybe one day it will happen. Let's talk more about the Men In Black spin-off!! 

Who Is Behind The Men In Black Spin-Off?

The writers include Matt Holloway and Art Marcum, who wrote Transformers: The Last Knight/Iron Man (one awful movie, one amazing movie). It is being produced by Laurie MacDonald and Walter F. Parkes, and executive produced by Steven Spielberg. They are looking into top directors currently. I feel that once I see who is directing it I will feel better about this film. I just hope the extension into the Men In Black universe doesn't turn out to be just completely terrible. I like the idea of seeing more of the Men In Black, but this spin-off could tarnish the whole franchise. Apparently, this reboot of the franchise wants to be like the reboot of Jurassic World. I personally really enjoyed Jurassic World, so I like the idea of Men In Black doing something like that. It is still too early to tell if this spin-off will be a success or failure.

Movie Marauder's Opinion On The Spin-Off

I understand that Sony wants to make money by extending their universes through reboots and spin-offs. I just think that instead of trying to get every last drop out of an old franchise, they should come up with something new. I really like Men In Black, but will the spin-off be the same without Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith? I just want some new material from someone because I feel like a lot of production companies have been just exploiting these older franchises when there are so many other topics to be explored. Men In Black will *I hope* turn  out to be a Jurassic World kind of reboot.

If you enjoyed this article and want more content like this everyday--follow me @moviemarauder and upvote this post!!!

Thanks for reading! Check out some of my other articles by clicking the links below