Should Kristen Wiig Be In Wonder Woman 2??

in #movies6 years ago

Hey movie marauders! According to Variety, Kristen Wiig is in talks to play the role of Cheetah in Wonder Woman 2. *OOOO sound* Wiig has been in films such as Ghostbusters (2017) which I liked, Bridesmaids (2011) did not like, and was on Saturday Night Live (from 2005-2012).  This is apparently Patty Jenkins' (director/writer of Wonder Woman) first choice for the villain. The sequel is supposed to be released on November 1, 2019. 

Reminder: *Don't forget to check out my YouTube Channel by clicking here!! Please Subscribe to be a Movie Marauder!! The latest video I posted is an epic Iron Man Montage!!*

My Thoughts

Kristen Wiig is definitely not who I envision as Cheetah. She is pretty good in comedic roles, but I dont see her playing a serious villain. I think someone like Kerry Washington would be better for the role. I'm kinda scared that her portrayl of Cheetah will be laughable (yikes). But, I feel like villains in superhero films overall aren't very good (except for Loki, Vulture, and Killmonger. Maybe even Doc Oc and Willem Dafoe's Green Goblin). For example, I was really looking forward to Hela in Thor: Raganrok, but she wasn't a good villain. I thought she was bland and very generic.

Wonder Woman 2 is going to be released very soon, so I don't think any other actress would be Cheetah because no other rumors have come out. It kind of makes me nervous to trust Cheetah in Wiig's hands, but I do trust Jenkins, and I hope it is the right decision. *remember nothing is official yet* I'm definitely still hoping that the role goes to someone else.

*BTW* Here is some background to Cheetah. I admit, I really don't know much about her so I decided to look it up and share :)

From: DC Database

"The Cheetah is a super-villain legacy of characters with feline characteristics who usually fight Wonder Woman. There have been several different people to use this alias.  Some simply wear a cheetah costume, while others are mutated. Priscilla Rich was the original during the Golden Age, and Deborah Domaine was the Silver Age version. Barbara Ann Minerva is the current contemporary version, although there has also been a male Cheetah named Sebastian Ballesteros. The character has been involved with Villainy, Inc., the Injustice League and the Secret Society of Super-Villains. Cheetah was created by William Moulton Marston and Harry G. Peter, first appearing in Wonder Woman  #6. (1943)"

Informational Sources: 1,2,3

Image Sources (main graphic I created): 1,2,3

Article Image Sources: 1

Don't forget to check out my YouTube Channel by clicking here!! Please Subscribe to be a Movie Marauder!! The latest video I posted is an epic Iron Man Montage!!

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this article and want more content like this everyday--follow me @moviemarauder and upvote this post!!! Check out some of my other articles by clicking the links below: