Will The DCEU Make A Comeback?

in #movies6 years ago

Hello Movie Marauders! Today, I would like to discuss a topic that I have been wondering as each DC movie comes out: Can the DCEU (D.C. Extended Universe) be saved? I have little to no hope that DC can be as good as Marvel, but I would still like to see DC make good superhero films. I have always liked DC superheroes, and it makes me sad that their movies are just one fail after another (except for Wonder Woman of course). Wonder Woman is the only exception to this pattern of failure-so why isn't the other DC films following in Wonder Woman's footsteps? Well with both Wonder Woman 2 and Aquaman being the next major films-I wonder if they will be good enough to revitalize the DCEU. Lets discuss:

Wonder Woman 1984

Yes-The title of Wonder Woman 2 is Wonder Woman 1984-as announced by director Patty Jenkins and star Gal Gadot. Not only was the title released, but also 2 new photos:

Gal Gadot (who plays Wonder Woman) posted this photo on Instagram with the caption, "Wonder Woman 1984 #WW84."

Patty Jenkins (director of Wonder Woman) tweeted this photo with the caption, "Welcome to WONDER WOMAN 1984, Steve Trevor! #WW84."

I have huge hopes for the sequel, and it will most definitely be a box office success because the first film made $821.9 million at the box office and is the highest "scored" DC film at 92%. If Wonder Woman 2 is as good as or better than the first, the DCEU is in good shape. Although there is a little bit of fear that it will fall into that pattern of failure. If this film is horrible, than there really is zero hope for the DCEU. If this film turns out to be worse than the first even I will give up all hope and not go to the theater for anything D.C. related. I really don't think that it will fail, but honestly anything can happen-we will just have to wait until November 1, 2019.

Aquaman

Aquaman is going to be released on December 21, 2018. I enjoyed his character in Justice League. He had some funny comments and is definitely not you typical superhero. My biggest fear for this movie is if the underwater effects look sloppy and the plot being terrible. I really like Black Manta as a villain, so hopefully they use him well. I think this movie is going in a lighter direction (which is very good). We haven't seen a trailer yet, but I hope we see one soon. If this film has more humor, better plot, and better characters than the DCEU could seriously make a comeback. I think Aquaman needs to be good to show that DC is changing and that they can get multiple superheroes right, not just WW. 

Conclusion

As for Batman, I am kind of done with it. I still like Christian Bale better and I want to see more heroes we have never seen before. I am open to a Green Lattern movie with Jon Stewart. I think that would give the film more of a fresh start. I seriously think that DC can work, but they shouldn't rush to compete with Marvel. DC has to accept that they started too late and Marvel has been working towards specific goals. DC making a Justice League film was way too early in my opinion because we didn't feel any emotional ties to the characters like we did in Infinity War. I think DC should stick to making their films good and not worry so much about what Marvel is doing.


Don't forget to check out my YouTube Channel by clicking here!! Please Subscribe to be a Movie Marauder!! The latest video I posted is an epic Iron Man Montage!! 

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this article and want more content like this everyday--follow me @moviemarauder , and don't forget to comment and upvote this post!!! Check out some of my other articles by clicking the links below: