Snatched (2017 movie) - Review

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

I’ve just finished watching one of the comedies released recently this year and I can’t help sharing my thoughts on what I experienced while seeing it. I didn’t plan on doing the review on this comedy but after watching it I want to.

“Snatched” is a comedy film directed by Jonathan Levine and written by Katie Dippold. The two main actresses starring in the film are Amy Schumer and Goldie Hawn. You can also enjoy the episodes with Joan Cusack and Wanda Sykes.

The film is about a mother and a daughter who have gotten themselves into a mishap while being on vacation in Ecuador. I suppose letting in on this much of the plot should be enough. But the real entertainment comes not so much from the plot as from the duos in this movie, the main one made up by Amy Schumer and Goldie Hawn.

I can’t miss an opportunity to express how glad I am to see Goldie Hawn on big screen again. “Death becomes her” is one of my favorite movies of all time and she rocked there. Here she plays the mother of Amy Schumer’s character and she fills the shoes naturally as if she’s her true mother. Goldie’s character is an aging woman who’s spending her time with her cat at the window of her house. She used to have good time traveling when she was younger but not anymore. So when her daughter approaches her with a ticket to Ecuador it takes some effort to talk her mother into going.

Amy Schumer is… well… Amy Schumer. I respect her and all, but sometimes it seems that she plays the same character in every role of hers. Luckily this film doesn’t require some particular “Oscar-winning” acting skills, so she fits in “Snatched” nicely as well.

The movie itself is much fun that is full of self-irony. Knowing that Amy Schumer plays in the film I expected the jokes about “vagina” and other intimate body parts, but it didn’t bother me as long as they weren’t over the top. Fortunately every dialogue was dutifully balanced. Prior to seeing the film I was a little bit worried that “Snatched” may turn out to be another stupid perversive comedy with showing off human body waste or some other disgusting stuff and continued talks about sex. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it didn’t. I mean there were sex and body parts’ talks but they didn’t monopolize the screen time and they were said in passing wherewith didn’t attract all attention.

Moreover, ironically in all of this pool of adventures we can find some issues people face in real life on everyday basis. One of them is mother-daughter relationships; sometimes rocky and in shambles, or temporarily smooth. Never ideal, which is in fact our reality.

There is another one I’d formulate as “all people are equal in the face of danger”. It’s referred to a scene when mother and daughter are in the middle of nowhere and they’re trying to call American Embassy to pick them up. They get refused and advised to reach one of the offices in Bogota instead. Once you watch the movie you’ll understand what I mean. The scene is sad and hilarious at the same time. On the other hand you may notice the irony and self-mocking there too. Amy Schumer is well known for these traits and she operates with these tools like a Pro.

Having said the above I can only add that I sat to watch the movie with expectations varying from low to average because I didn't see much of the good comedies lately, and I was pleasantly surprised finding the "Snatched" to be light and funny. An hour and a half didn't drag and carried me through the entire piece unnoticeably. If you're up for some fun evening with pop corn and a good company of friends, then this movie is for you!

Thank you for reading my short and unplanned review, I wish you more good movies!

Sort:  

i also saw it recently, better then IMDb ratings for sure, you review is good too

thank you!

wow, nice review! I've never heard about this movie. Now I have to watch it).
Thanks!

sure)) thank you for reading

Congratulations @nameislv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!