3 Horror Movies

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0996.JPG
(My dolls, my original photo to haunt you)

You may not have heard of these movies. I like to spread the news on lesser known horror movies, because it's my favorite genre and I always appreciate it when us horror fans can bring each other new stuff to enjoy.

  1. The Battery (2012)
    This is a zombie movie, but it's a bit different in that it has a slower build and isn't one long gore festival. Two former baseball players, Ben and Mickey are on their own as they try to survive the new world together. Ben is more psychologically sturdy than Mickey, who seems to be living in a dream world. He relies heavily on Ben to do the defending while he pines for how it used to be, clinging to his Walkman to keep out the dread of his new circumstances. I found this movie highly satisfying, and I loved the ending. It also features a cool song from a great band called Rock Plaza Central. I already liked that little band, so hearing them in this movie was extra cool for me.

  2. Black Rock (2012)
    Kate Aselton wrote the story for this movie, and Mark Duplass wrote the screenplay. Two women are going camping on an island to catch up and relive old times. When a third friend is waiting for them to ferry over, one of the original two objects to her presence. She is finally convinced to let the past go for the sake of the trip. Once on the island they run into a man they knew in high school who is out hunting with some buddies. The six decide to get drunk around the campfire. What could go wrong? Watch and find out. Lots of tension and surprise. Lake Bell and Kate Bosworth star as Aselton's friends.

  3. Goodnight Mommy (2014)
    This one was weird. I like weird. Two twin brothers await their mothers return after she has cosmetic surgery. When mommy comes home, the boys begin to fear her, and start to wonder if she is really their mommy after all. What evil is lurking in the house? Will you see the truth before it is unveiled? I don't want to give any more detail, because nobody likes a spoiler.

Alright, let me know if these are new to you or what you thought about them. Sweet dreams my pretties!

https://steemit.com/horror/@renodakota/end-of-the-world-horror-movies

https://steemit.com/horror/@renodakota/some-of-my-favorite-horror-movies

Sort:  

The first one, although it's zombie, sounds a bit interesting. I may have to look this one up. The second movie, as soon as you said camping I knew what was up! I don't camp in real life but I blame it on the insects. The last movie title was frighting because I have two daughters but the dialog had me intrigued. Out of the three, I will watch goodnight mommy because I am now curious about this film. Thanks @renodakota

Thanks for reading and responding. Please come back and let me know if you like it.

I've not heard of these movies! Big fan of the horror genre so I'll have to check it out. Black Rock specifically sounds interesting... thanks for the recommends

Cool! My hope was to give someone a chance to find something new!

Please come back and let me know if you watch any of them. I'd like to hear your opinions.

I've seen these too! Pretty good movies. You did an excellent job of describing them (without ruining the ending for someone that hasn't watched them)
I look forward to reading more of your horror movie reviews, so keep em coming!!!!

Thanks! Here, have a worthless vote!

What would you say is your favorite of the three? I can't quite choose between the battery and black rock. Guess I'll have to give them both a rewatch.

The 3 movies that had me "unhinged"...
1,."Occulus"

  1. The Shining
  2. The first "Blair witch"....

SO many more! But those come to mind

But, what about out of these three? These aren't my favorites :)

Congratulations @renodakota! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I haven't watched any of these...

Goodnight Mommy sounds particularly wretched!

Let me know what you think if you watch any of these.

Most definitely :)

I think we are related in some way...ha.

These are great films, I love obscure horror (and sci-fi too)... the out of the way stuff, weirder is better.

Love the dolls, all I see is sweet in their faces. :P

I know! I'm so happy I found you on here. We seem to have a lot in common.

I have not heard of any of these. The second one sounds like something I would watch for sure. Plus the first one with zombies sounds cool. Great post. I like horror movie, but my watching habits have changed now that I have kids. Lol. Great post! One suggestion, maybe ad the movie poster for each write up. You rock and I appreciate you as a follower. Thanks for support.

I wasn't sure if that was allowed, but it would make it more interesting visually. Maybe I can find appropriate gifs at giphy now! Thanks man!

Cool creepy photo and good post about the movies... keep up the good work!

I will check out that zombie movie. I used to be a zombie fanatic but they got really played out in cinema for a time. The love is still there but I don't actively look for them anymore. Thanks for the sugestions and resteemed. I watched black rock that is about it. Have you seen this movie?


it is a weird but good one.

Cool, I hope you like it. I watched the trailer and I will definitely watch this movie! Looks good, thanks!

Just went to check out your blog and noticed that you resteemed this. Thank you!

I like a good movie review especially if it has a few zombie movies I haven't seen.

:)