Two Horror Movies and One Great Horror Short

in #movies6 years ago


(GIF by giphy.com and Murray is my original photo)

One of these scared me (even inspired a nightmare, which I sort of enjoy- I’m a little odd), and the other movie was just fun and had some good gore.

The Blackcoat’s Daughter (2015)

Rose and Kat are two students at a Catholic boarding school. It’s the winter break and with everyone excited to leave for vacation, the girls are left behind as they await their parents to collect them. Rose uses the rumor of the House Mother’s Satanic worshipping to scare the younger Kat, before leaving her to fend for herself while she sneaks out to see her boyfriend. The creepy atmosphere builds as we are introduced to mysterious Joan, who appears to have escaped from a hospital of some kind. As we see things escalate at the school, the story turns back to Joan, leading us to a horrific turn of events where things come together at last. This one was a slow burn but well worth a watch. I give it an 8 out of 10.

The Babysitter (2017)

Twelve year old Cole is afraid of just about everything. His timidity gets him bullied on a regular basis, but also sees him still needing a babysitter. Lucky for Cole, Bee is a great babysitter, one he enjoys spending time with, because she’s really fun and kind to him, and he is in short supply of friendship. When his only friend Melanie down the street dares him to stay up past his bedtime, he doesn’t believe he’ll see what she predicts. Surely Bee goes to bed at ten thirty just like he does! She doesn’t have her boyfriend over! What Cole witnesses proves that Melanie was wrong, but not in the way he thought she’d be. This is a fun ride, with good acting, humor, a particularly gory surprise. I give it a 6.

Bonus time!
“I Should Have Run” is a very creepy, poetic horror short. I won’t go into detail because it’s a short, and the title lays the groundwork for intrigue as it is. I believe you can find it on Vimeo.

86FCAFDC-1EC1-4A2C-AABA-2F3B81F667EE.jpeg
Murray wishes you sweet dreams!

Did you see these movies? What did you think? Try to avoid spoilers!

Sort:  

Very spooky! Thanks for the suggestions!

Of course. I’ll post more soon.

Ooh I need to watch these! It's hard finding good creepy films. btw, I answered your question this morning :)
Wishing you a lovely day!

Thanks. I’ll go check it out.