The story of how I found out about the most underrated movie ever and almost got into the hospital.

in #movies6 years ago

When I was younger, around 11 years old, my parents often did not want me to watch movies which where age restricted so I always had to come up with a sneaky plan in order to be able to watch them. Back then we did not have netflix or anything but instead my parents where recording movies which they wanted to see on blank DVDs.

After playing a bit of Sherlock Holmes I found out that my parents where storing all the movies I was too young for at a top-shelf drawer while the rest of the movies where freely available. Being the dumb kid that I am I pretended to be ill on a day where my family wanted to go out to dinner, planning to watch one of the 'top secret' movies.

After my parents left I rushed to the drawer at lightning speed to put in one of those blank DVDs. I was super excited until I realized:
THE DRAWER WAS SOMEHOW LOCKED

At that point I started getting really frustrated and contemplated aborting the mission.
Being kinda angry I punched against the drawer. The result: The whole shelf almost fell onto me while being home alone. With some tiger-like reflexes I managed to stop it from falling onto my face.(That would have brought me into the hospital if not more.)
Having saved myself I was just relieved and thought: 'Who cares I'm just going to watch some of those movies for children'. I opened the DVD player and what was in there:

A fkin blank DVD. My parents must have forgotten to put it into the drawer. I couldn't believe my luck and started watching the movie, which was titled Lucky Number Slevin.
Let me tell you. That movie was soo awesome I watched it a second time one day later being home alone again.

I don't really want to go into detail about the movie as you MUST experience it for yourself.
The movie revolves around two gangsters which are competing with each other and it has some insane plot twists.
It goes into the direction of a modern fairytale and takes place in the real world.

Still today I must say that Lucky Number Slevin is by far my absolute favorite movie and it is a shame that it was not more successful. Everytime I watch it again I must think about this little story and how I almost got smashed by a bigass shelf.

Do you guys already know the movie? Do you have other underated movies that you would like to recommend?
Let me know in the comments as I'm always looking for a gem.
ace-bet-blackjack-534181.jpg
Pexels

#movies #funny #entertainment #writing #story #adventure