90th Academy Awards OSCARS Predictions - Airs March 4th 5E/8P 2018

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

oscar.png

Source: oscar.go.com

With the 90th Academy Awards drawing near, it's about time we gather all around and make some predictions on who will win this season! I’ve seen most of the motion films in the best picture category (check out my reviews) but haven’t seen any of the documentaries, foreign or short films (I’m sure they are outstanding). Here are your nominees for best picture in alphabetical order.

Best Picture:

Call Me By Your Name (2017)
Darkest Hour (2017)
Dunkirk (2017)
Get Out (2017)
Lady Bird (2017)
Phantom Thread (2017)
The Post (2017)
The Shape of Water (2017)
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (2017)
MY PREDICTION: CALL ME BY YOUR NAME ✔️
Seeing how Moonlight and Brokeback Mountain are previous winners, I'm sure Call Me By Your Name will win!

Lead Actor:

Timothée Chalamet - Call Me by Your Name
Daniel Day-Lewis - Phantom Thread
Daniel Kaluuya - Get Out
Gary Oldman - Darkest Hour
Denzel Washington - Roman J. Israel, Esq.
MY PREDICTION: GARY OLDMAN ✔️
Out of all these lead actors, I believe Gary Oldman played his part pretty darn well!

Lead Actress:

Sally Hawkins - The Shape of Water
Frances McDormand - Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Margot Robbie - I, Tonya
Saoirse Ronan - Lady Bird
Meryl Streep - The Post
MY PREDICTION: SALLY HAWKINS ✔️
I'm pretty torn with this one because I loved Frances McDormand in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird but Sally Hawkins didn't even need to say a word for us to believe!

Supporting Actor:

Willem Dafoe - The Florida Project
Woody Harrelson - Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Richard Jenkins - The Shape of Water
Christopher Plummer - All the Money in the World
Sam Rockwell - Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
MY PREDICTION: SAM ROCKWELL ✔️
Hands down should win! His best performance yet!

Supporting Actress:

Mary J. Blige - Mudbound
Allison Janney - I, Tonya
Lesley Manville - Phantom Thread
Laurie Metcalf - Lady Bird
Octavia Spencer - The Shape of Water
MY PREDICTION: LAURIE METCALF ✔️
I'm also torn with this one-- Allison Janney in I, Tonya played her role to a T, absolutely fabulous but Laurie Metcalf should take this one easy!

Director:

Dunkirk - Christopher Nolan
Get Out - Jordan Peele
Lady Bird - Greta Gerwig
Phantom Thread - Paul Thomas Anderson
The Shape of Water - Guillermo del Toro
MY PREDICTION: GUILLERMO DEL TORO - THE SHAPE OF WATER ✔️
Very deserving, the movie moved so well from start to finish!

Adapted Screenplay:

Call Me by Your Name - James Ivory
The Disaster Artist - Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber
Logan - Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green
Molly’s Game - Aaron Sorkin
Mudbound - Virgil Williams and Dee Rees
MY PREDICTION: AARON SORKIN - MOLLY’S GAME ✔️
Sorry guys, I'm bias with this one. Molly's Game got snubbed in almost all the categories and Aaron Sorkin deserves a nod for Molly's Game because it was an outstanding movie! My number #1 movie of 2017!

Original Screenplay:

The Big Sick - Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani
Get Out - Jordan Peele
Lady Bird - Greta Gerwig
The Shape of Water - Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - Martin McDonagh
MY PREDICTION: JORDAN PEELE - GET OUT ✔️
We all like rooting for the underdog but I wouldn't mind seeing Greta Gerwig - Lady Bird win it either!

All my predictions for the 90th Academy Awards aren’t going to be right but we had fun guessing who will win. Let's see how many we get right! What are your guys predictions for the 90th Academy Awards? I hope you guys catch one of these movies before March 4th 2018 when the Oscars start, so you will be in the know! Thank you for stopping by and I'll see you guys around!

Sort:  

Something tells me Daniel Day Lewis will win Best Actor. They won't let him retire empty handed. Peele should get Best Director but I feel like Nolan will get it. I'm currently watching The Shape of Water and I don't know, I'm not impressed. I actually fell asleep twice. I don't think it'll win anything.

I'm going to keep your picks in mind!

Haha, comparing all of Guillermo del Toro movies, The Shape of Water is his softest movie. We're bound to fall asleep at some point. =P