Durga: an oil painting on canvas

in #mspsteem6 years ago

Also known as Shakti or Devi, Durga is the guardian mother of the universe. Befitting her role as mother protector, Durga is multi-limbed so that she may always be ready to battle evil from any direction. In most depictions, she has between eight and 18 arms and holds a symbolic object in each hand. Although she may be quite fierce in some of her forms, here I have depicted her at her most benign; a protector of all that is good and harmonious in the world.

The little girl in my painting reposes faithfully in the arms of the loving and nurturing goddess.

In Hindu art there are many marvelous sculptures of Durga; the one that is the source of the inspiration of this painting is currently at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
DURGA-web.jpg

Sort:  

Resteemed to over 13600 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

kathleenscarboro i provide very cheap rate resteem service in 0.050 and if you want my vote then sand 0.070 i will resteem and upvote you . if you want to know how to earn 7 to 10 SBD in one day contect me on skype : farhannaqvig . ( Steemit is not easy way to earn ) .Its depand upon you when you want to start your earning today or wasting 6 month and then .

I can not appreciate your beautiful work miss @kathleenscarboro ...
for me this is very valuable! For me you also have a role like "Goddess Durga", because you make me happy.
^ _ ^
let me give you the price for your painting 🙏

With all my heart I Love your Painting Miss @kathleenscarboro

Thank you so much @sayedahmadsabiq, I am glad you enjoy the painting. It is sold. Best to you.

thank you miss @kathleenscarboro

I feel honored

There is only one God and he does not have 8arms

I respect all beliefs and deny no one's right to believe in whatever divinity they choose. Freedom and tolerance are essential to peace in this world.

surreal & surreal!

Very beautiful :) You're work is wonderful. Thank you for sharing @kathleenscarboro.

Thank you @tryskele, glad you enjoy it.

Dear Artist @kathleenscarboro ! This post has been upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

that's sweet - you create such happy paintings!
ah yes, the usual - sharing etc - hugs

Yes Otto, I love painting joy and serenity. Thanks and hugs.

Love it!!!!

Thank you so much @carolineschell!

You're welcome :-))))

This post has received a 50% upvote from spotlight thanks to: @resteemable.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Mind blowing art on Goddess Durga ! Brilliant !! Became fan of your work ! Followed you my friend !!

Yes isn't Durga a wonderful goddess? Thank you @akkha.

Yeah, She is ! She is the symbol of power and victory and we worship her during our national festival Dashian !