Mulan: Rethinking the Remake

in #mulan5 years ago

Hmm… after watching the trailer for the live-action version of "Mulan," I’m kind of torn about this remake. It looks a lot more like the type of movie I would typically enjoy, as it’s got a "Chinese epic" kind of vibe -- it even looks like they integrated some Chinese types of film tricks -- BUT I really don’t feel like Disney is the correct company to be making this version of "Mulan."

I mean, let’s be honest here: the vast majority of people who are going to see these live-action remakes are the ones who grew up watching the watered-down, musical, children’s versions. These same people are the ones who are going to line up to buy the movie ticket ‘cause they’re looking to fulfill their desire for that nostalgic experience -- but I really don’t feel like this film is going to deliver that at all.

I’m fully aware that the cartoon didn’t do well in China, but now it feels like Disney has chosen to go the route of appeasing China’s audience, while sacrificing the base that made the cartoon successful in the first place. I get the feeling that most western audiences will be left disappointed by the fact that there won’t be any of the original songs for them to sing along to, and by the fact that they got rid of Mushu & Shang. I’m also aware that China has leverage over Disney, & is definitely a big factor in why they chose to go this route, but I get the feeling that this may backfire on Disney. Now, I’ll admit that I’m actually the kind of person who would definitely be interested in seeing a realistic & honest depiction of the real Mulan, but I have no interest in seeing that version coming from Disney.

But that’s my take -- what do you think?

Sort:  

Congratulations @alphaaquarius! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!