When we found out my baby sister has MS

in #multiple8 years ago (edited)

To say I was internally angry was an under statement. You see , 3o years ago at the age of 16, I sat with my mother in a doctors office awaiting her results.
The MRI clearly showed plaques on the brain. It was MS. At the time, I had no idea what that meant. I just knew that Mom had trouble with her balance. I had watched her fall in parking lots while stepping off a curve. She was extremely tired and depressed. She would be in bed for days at a time unable to move. Hot and cold effected her badly.

Fast forward 30 Years later. My only sibling who is 9 years younger then me, calls. She had the strangest thing happen and she wasn't sure what was going on. She could no longer see in her right eye. I was convinced that maybe it was Candida symptoms. Afraid and feeling really off, she went to the ER. There they set her up with an optometrist. A week later she went for her appointment. They concluded that it was optic neuritis and that she needed an MRI.

The optometrist asked her "Have you ever heard of a disease called MS?" Words that she had always feared that she would hear. She grew up with Mom being sick. In a wheelchair and watching her deteriorate. So she called me crying. I on the other hand was just mad. MS? How the hell would he know if it is MS?

I just told her "Well let's just see what the MRI says first before jumping to anything." So after the MRI she was sent on to a Neurologist. Then the dreaded answer came "I'm sorry but this is Multiple Sclerosis." What a blow. Thirty Years later and this disease thinks it's going to claim another family member. Total Bullshit!

The good news is that, due to the enormous amount of information at anyone's disposal, you can find hope and answers. Started watching video's about the Swank diet. Watched John Mcdougall talk about the Starch Solution.
The difference between now and thirty years ago, is the Internet. Information and answers at your fingertips. For all the fighters that get this disease, I say, Keep fighting.

Don't let anyone tell you that you can't overcome this. You can. My Sister and i have a plan. We are going to change diet and learn as much as possible to overcome. We both feel that this time around there is more hope.

Thanks for letting me share this with you. If you too are going through, just remember that You can make it better.

Sort:  

I really admire your courage. Information can make a huge difference in hope and outlook. Never give up.

Thank you so much for your kind reply.