How I ended up living in Mallorca

in #mum2 years ago (edited)


Hola a todos! I wanted to share today how I ended up living in Mallorca. From a young age, all my dad ever talked about was moving abroad, I was fortunate enough to get to travel with my parents maybe 3-4 times a year. My dad had his own building company and my mum was a nurse.


image.png
On our way to Greece


We would go on holiday to places like Greece, France, Spain, Malta, Turkey, we would spend a week by the pool and then a week exploring, some of my favorite childhood memories are on the back of Jeep, exploring Greek towns and stopping to sample the local foods.

It’s strange that my parents eventually chose Mallorca to live as it was actually somewhere we’d never visited, I was sure we would end up on a Greek island as it was my dads favorite place to vacation.

Both my parents wanted me to finish my education in the UK, so we all agreed to wait until I was 16 to make a decision.

As planned when I turned 16 we had a family discussion about what we would do. I decided to stay in the UK for 2 years and finish my A levels and my parents would set up their life somewhere hot and wait for me to join them. They put our beautiful home up for sale and it sold straight away! I was excited to be staying with my grandparents, especially my Nan as she practically raised me as my mum was training as a nurse when I was born.


image.png
My beautiful Nan


My parents moved and as planned I stayed in the UK, that was until I spent the summer in Mallorca, I fell in love with the island immediately. I was blown away by the beaches and the way Of life. I spent my days with friends and I’d go out every evening - there was no way I could go back to wearing a uniform, I’d discovered freedom.


image.png
Freedom!


I made the decision to stay in Mallorca and my parents agreed to let me work for them until I figured my life out, they had a British pub, I was the worst waitress and they sacked me severely times - it’s a miracle we all survived spending so many hours together.

One day a guy called David came into my parents place and asked me if I would go and meet his boss, he explained he was the head entertainer in a hotel and needed an assistant, I’d not even got a CV. I went to the hotel and within minutes of meeting Cristina, owner of the Cristina apartments - I was the new entertainer. I had NO idea what an entertainer was, I’d never been on a package holiday in my life. I soon found out that it was the best job in the world, I got to play games all day and meet the most amazing families.

Due to the kids always wanting to stay with me, instead of going to kid's club, my boss decided to get me trained up to be able to work with the kids and within 2 years I was running the kids club. I would later on become the head of entertainment and I have to say, they were the best days of my life. Cristina is now godmother to my child and I am so thankful that I got to work there for so long.


image.png
On stage performing with The Comrades


Due to only working during the tourist season, I was fortunate to be able to spend my winters studying and traveling, I became a qualified in teaching English as a foreign language by the time I was 22 and I’ve also studied accounting.

So, that’s how I ended up staying on this beautiful island. I can’t wait to share some of my stories from my entertainment days.

Have a lovely day,

Rebecca

Sort:  

It's funny how sometimes we just fall into place as you did with your entertainers job. It's like destiny or something. I guess some call it being in the right place at the right time but I think it goes deeper than that.

A nice brief history here.

Have a great weekend.

I think life always works out exactly how it is meant to, I hope you are having a better time now , sometimes coffee and a moment to ourselves is all we need :)

Indeed life has a way if falling into place. I believe that we need to shape it a little though, to help it take the form we wish it to, or something close to it. That's what the phrase I end my posts with means.

All good here. Sunday, sleep in, going to the hardware store. It's all falling into place. 😊

So you were singing in the band too?

Since you have said how awesome it is, what is the worst part about Mallorca?

That would probably be texting every day bricking it regarding the big T. (That's not you btw :) )

Definitely not me!!

I'm the "Average T"

I used to sing with them when they came to my hotel to perform , that picture was on the Wednesday and I had my son on the Friday , such an amazing memory

I honestly don’t dislike anything about Mallorca , prices are going up at the moment but I think that’s everywhere , the only thing I would change would be being so far away from my mum and Nan. Due to covid I didn’t see them for 2 years , that was hard , hopefully things will get back to normal now and they can visit as often as they like

I didn't know you worked at the Cristina apartments - do you know I see those every time I have a pee? :)

Freedom is wearing 2 euro shades, apologies if yours cost more :D

That picture was just before I spent the day at a bar-crawl / water fight :-P

I did not know you saw my old work place as you peed , thanks for sharing :-D

Looks like the water fight had already taken place!

I did not know you saw my old work place as you peed

I do like to share facts like these 😝

wow! that's an adventurous life. Reading this after being at home for the last 4 years due to an exam and then covid and uncertain of my future, I feel somewhat better. we are eager to know your entertainment arc :)

Congratulations @mallorcamum! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 17
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Nice to see more people living on Mallorca here in Hive! I don't know if you're still reading comments here but I saw you upvoting one of my posts so at least you're still active ;-) !LUV