Turning Mundane Moss into an Art

in #mundaneart6 years ago

"The Mundane as Art"

- @kus-knee

Before anything else, I just want say that I'm a believer to the "Mundane as Art". In fact I made my own photo series of it in which I featured escalators & stairs. This time, I'm taking it to a different level, on a lower level of view, down to the ground, and it's about the beauty of a moss.

To glorify a common moss is much more difficult than having an awesome Architectural building or a pretty model figure as subjects. It is for a simple reason that the appreciation that we give to the mundane things is so inferior. In fact, most of us considered moss as a piece of dirt. Well, for this post I would like to prove it wrong. It's easier said than done. That's also true, I attest to that.

To be honest, when I was about to start my photography of the moss few minutes ago, I didn't know what to do. It's only until I was on the process of taking the shots that I realize how beautiful these subjects are. From a far, they look like stains or "green colored dirt". But when seen up-close, it reveals astounding details that are amazing to look at. So without further ado, here are few of the series of shots I did...

01.jpg

Among all of the photos, this one is what I like the most. I'm amazed how it covers the bark and small branches of the tree. Not to mention the vibrant colors of yellow and green which looks like a small pocket of forest. On top of that, I was astounded by the small details on its tiny stems and minute leaves that can only be seen clearly on a macro lens.

DSC09654-1.jpg

For this photo, I like how the vibrant green moss is popping-out from the dark brown color of the tree bark. The colors and textures of the moss and the bark compliments each other. The bark of the tree and smooth fur-like moss looks like an oil-based painting on a rough canvass.

DSC09661-1.jpg

DSC09666-1.jpg

DSC09667-1.jpg

584437d4a6515b1e0ad75b69.png

While I was exploring the trees around our area, I also noticed a type of orchid that grew on the trunk of the tree.

DSC09651-1.jpg

I was really interested into it that I made a quick research about it, it is actually named as Button Orchid (Dischidia Nummularia). I guess like everyone else, I thought that it's an orchid. I was wrong, it's actually a type of vine that clings on the bark of trees which serves as the host. It is a plant native to Queensland and Malaysia which happens to be both tropical countries. The name "nummularia or nummularius" came from the Latin word which means "money changer", and that's because of it's coin shaped leaves.

DSC09653-1.jpg

DSC09652-1.jpg

The challenge given by @kus-knee led me on my discovery of this unique looking plant, which I thought to be an orchid but actually a vine. Also, on this challenge I learned to appreciate a mundane thing like a moss, it's a realization to me. I guess we just have to put more effort to look closely and pay attention to the mundane just like how we look at the more pleasing subjects that we normally have. Who knows, you might discover more than what you expected.

So that's about it on my quick journey in discovering the beauty and art of the mundane. I hope you enjoyed reading my article about it. And thank you for reaching this far!

Sort:  

Amazing pieces of shots you have there, the plants may be mundane but it appears as a beauty too.

Agreed on that! Its up to us how we look at it. Thanks bro!

Most welcome!

It's amazing what you can find in nature. The details and intricacy are so captivating. I do a different style of art which you can find on my page at https://steemit.com/@mrblinddraw but I really appreciate photography that captures the beauty of the world we live in.

Hi @mrblinddraw, by the way thats a really cool name. I agree, the world would look differently if we look at a different view. Same goes to your art, i had a surreal interpretation into it. You have a unique way of presenting it. Its really interesting!
Thank you for dropping-by.

the pictures looks beautiful and special.

Thank you! your comment is much appreciated :-)

you are welcome.🤗

unique plant.. nice pictures

Yes, I agree. I didn't know until today. Thanks :-)

Very beautiful photos!

Thank you, glad you like it :-)

Very nice post@funtraveller

wow. perfectly captured. simple things turned into an art :)

Thanks @bigmike420! It was a challenge but it was also fun to do. :-)

Very nice pictures with a great explanation!

Thanks! I tried to explain as much as i can.
Have a great day!

This is why I love photographers. It's not just merely taking pictures but making a life out of something. Plus researches, you are an inspiration @funtraveller.

Those are kind words, really appreciate it man! I tried to put more effort into it, hehehe. Thank you, Have a great day! :-)

very nice picture...

Thank you! Really appreciate that @reatimtim :-)

That kind of moss is a good material in making a terarrium ( small garden inside a bottle ) I would be making it soon follow me @dzued :)

Totally agreed to that! If you can find a Dutch Moss that would be awesome. A bit expensive though.

By the way i also made a terarrium about 2 months ago. Ive made a post about it. Feel free to check it out also https://steemit.com/nature/@funtraveller/how-i-start-my-own-garden-in-a-bottle-5-easy-steps-in-making-terrarium

Thanks for dropping-by @dzued!

IT WAS AWESOME MAN ,i followed you up man, soon I will be posting my own terarrium i just need more moss since I live in the city I hardly cant find more TT @dzued

Great! I will be looking into that. For sure that will be awesome. Yes followed you as well. Keep it up man!

Wow! It's like appreciating the little things. Great post! Keep it up!

Yes! I think we should do it more often, hehehe. Thanks for your kind comment @wilynethcantong :-)

Everything is mundane until someone decides it's not :) good job here, following you now

Yeah, agree to that :-) thanks! Following you as well :-)