Glacial Waters: Iceland

in #mundaneart6 years ago (edited)

Last June I had the gift of an opportunity to travel around Iceland with my buddies Kylene, Adam @customnature, and my sister @RubyGoat. Kylene and Adam are experienced Icelandic travelers and it was so fun to tour around the island with them as they showed me all their favorite spots. I felt like I had a personal adventure guide!
I just spotted this ice picture contest thanks to @countrygirl, and I immediately thought of the glaciers. Adam and Kylene were so excited to show me them for the first time. The milky blue is such a beautiful color to come upon in nature. The feeling was surreal, hearing the ice clunk around in the water, with a subtle scraping, and even a crash as a chunk broke off. I know there's a name for that, but Adam will have to remind us all.

Thank you for hosting this contest Old Dog!
This is my entry for the ice round hosted by @kus-nee (The Old Dog)

0X5A9293.jpg

Annnnd if you're curious, this is one of the shots I ended up taking of our newly weds:
0X5A9262.jpg

UPDATE: I was just on Adam's page and he wrote a very informative post that has all the real info on the glaciers here:
https://steemit.com/nature/@customnature/daily-nature-fix-iceberg-portraits-original-photos
You should definitely check it out.

Sort:  

Awesome, what was the temperature like??

Thanks for reading! You know...I'm not totally certain...I'm guess it was around freezing, so probably about 32F, 0C...

Breathtaking! What a place to explore!

Question--are you allowed to ride the icebergs?

Very funny. I think the answer is no.

Great compositions, the colours are incredible too!