Sort:  

This is a very interesting place that I'd like to visit too as rice is the main staple at my home as well :) My husband is originally from Indonesia even though he was born in the Netherlands but his parents cook only Asian meals.

So funny to learn about the rice flag :) and that room with all those symbols is amazing! Do you understand all of them?

And I guess that Taiwan is not the biggest producer of rice because of its size, isn't it?

Thank you for sharing Pauline! I like your story and your photos are very nice too!

Thanks as always Martina. I think Taiwan isn't a major rice producer as it isn't as big as other countries such as India or Thailand, and labour is a bit more expensive. Also the east side where most of the agriculture is often have typhoons and that sometimes can wipe out the whole crop. I believe we are quite self suffucient though, which is great.

I imagine there must be quite a large Indonesian community in Netherlands due to its colonial days?

I wonder if I'll ever be able to distinguish different categories of rice - I never think about it, since I've not been raised on rice I see it as just a 'carrier' of the food that I eat with the rice, but have never had an opinion on the rice itself :-) I actually would love to get to know more about it. This museum seems like an well-spent visit :-)

I think the most common types of rice for westerners are probably long grain such as basmati rice and short grain used to make paella, but rice variety to westerners is a bit like potatoes to Asians. I don't think any Asian can tell the difference between a maris piper vs a king edward or new potato - or is that just an English thing? ^_^

Hahaha - I know even less about Potatoes apparently :') I know you can cook them (yuck), mash them (more yuck) or bake and fry them (yummee, crispy! :')) and steam them (yummee, with a bit of garlic sauce please!).

Never been a fan of potatoes although my parents made a very very nice garlic mash last time I visited, wish they had raised me on that, but they learned how to 'really' cook only later in life :-)

mmm... never tried garlic mash before, though that sounds interesting. Is that with mashed garlic or garlic bits?

Yes, you can mash and bake the garlic and later incorporate it in the potato mash. I didn't ask for the recipe, but it was freakishly good.

Wow its an amazing museum
Very nice dear friend such agrest post
Thanks for sharing
Thanks dear friend

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks I'm so impressed you read the whole post one minute after I posted it as its quite long. Which part did you find most amazing?

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=livinguktaiwan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=thehistoryandstoryofrice-3ad2nsax7j


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.864 which ranks you at #1268 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1265).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 247 contributions, your post is ranked at #52.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hi, @livinguktaiwan!

You just got a 0.9% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest. If you enjoy steemit worldmap and the manual curation effort we're going through each day, please consider supporting what we do!