Mycelium Monday: Self education with mushrooms

in #mushroom7 years ago

*


Disclaimer: I am not a mycologist... but... perhaps I will be in time.

While I was out for a walk, I happened to stumble by a mushroom. This is my first attempt at its indoor growth and reproduction. Mistakes have been made, but, that is just learning in disguise. While attempts at growing can be educational, eating a mushroom that has been misidentified can be deadly. There is no room for error.

  • Step #1

Obtain a sample
Most mushroom spores can be purchased from the net, but, this step is already complete, a fresh mushroom has been picked.

  • Step #2

Identification
Spore prints are easily made and required step when the species is unknown. This can be made by removing the stem, and placing the cap of the mushroom onto white paper or tinfoil for 8-12 hours. It is best to have the mushroom cap covered the entire time to prevent outside contaminants and preserve as many of the spores as possible.

Spore prints will come in a variety of sizes, color and patterns. Each one can help narrow down the selection through process of elimination. When spores are viewed under a microscope, it is possible to obtain much more information about the fungus in question.

*

There are quite a few resources available on the net to help figure out what kind of fungus is being dealt with. Having more than one sample is best as color and shape of the fungus can vary depending on environment and damage done to it while growing. I used a few resources to come up with an educated guess as to which specific fungus I am dealing with. There are many more pages to be read before continuing any further.

MycoKey / The Poisonous Plant Patch / Shroomery / Mushroom Expert


  • Step #3

Create syringe
Sterility is key for all steps gong forward. If any outside spores enter any part of the process until mushrooms are picked, the entire product might have to be discarded for safety purposes.

  • Step #4

Inoculation
Depending on the mushrooms picked to grow, there are a few types of growing material available. Rye Grain with a mix of brown rice flower is the most popular choice, but it is possible to use popcorn kernels and even coffee grounds as well.

After a few weeks to allow the contents to incubate and grow through the rye grain, you'll be left with a jar of mycelium.

At this point, it is best to check for outside contaminants. Most times, it will be pretty obvious there is a second or third unwanted fungus by visually inspecting the jar. Here is an example of an early failure where I attempted to use coffee grounds instead of rye grain. The bottle was not properly decontaminated and contained excess water. Mold can be seen growing. Myclium is white, and the green patches, plus the hair like strands extending from the coffee grounds are both unwanted. Discard and try again.

After sterilizing the growing box and boiling the straw, I am ready to add in the rye grain mycelium.

Day 1

Day 6

Day 7

Day 11

On the 12th day, the myclium was completely grown through the straw. I added a layer of sterilized peat moss. 36 hours later, it can be seen growing through that new layer too.

Day 15

Day 16

Day 18

A plastic lid or bag can be used to keep in the humidity. If the top layer is too dry, the mushrooms will stop growing.

The start of what is (hopefully) my first mushroom pins are now visible.


My education into the weird world of fungi continues...

Thanks for taking the time to check out my post.
I'll have a follow up for this out shortly.

-MadHatt


Video sources - Mushroom Mike / Willy Myco
Image sources - 1, 2,


Sort:  

My dreams can be so vivid, after eating regular, salad bar, mushrooms, that I wake up wondering if the dreams were real, like in another dimension. I try to spot something, in the dream, to date it, past or future. Yes, I dream in color. I feel that I'm in the near future. Ocean like waters in most.

Nothing is possible without fungus, it recycles all dead things back into life.
It is pure magic, no matter what species you deal with.

Thanks for checking out my post.

Hey..
Just found your channel, through post #9 comment...
"this is a post." LOL


I Love this ShT, Fungi..
You're a Junior Mycologist, at least
Following


Love learning something new... Fungi are incredibly complex, and in some cases, a bit of magic too.
Thanks for checking out my blog. :D

What amazes me that i can turn old used cardboard to food.I love oyster mushrooms but there is no mushroom that is more beautiful than magic mushrooms.Soon i will start posting on different techniques of growing from my lab.