You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mushroom Hunting Great Success

I seem to recall you are from Germany? I bet Chanterelles, Fly Agaric, and Boletes grow there too. I know the latter two species do, and I am pretty sure Chanterelles do too. I have read a lot of folks pick Morels, and various other species in Europe and Asia that I am less familiar with. I know there are mushrooms worthy of the most exacting gourmand there, and so I am sure there are people that pick them there too.

I found a mycologist locally that I would bring samples to that I though might be good ones from what I read and saw in field guides. That was what really got me started, but after I was out innawoods picking I ran across others that were foraging, and went from there.

There must be universities, clubs, or buyers of wild mushrooms where you are. If you get a good field guide, like Peterson's or Audubon's, and wander around innawoods, you will find things that look likely to take to experts to ask about. I was wandering innawoods anyway, so it was a sort of natural addition to hunting.

Nothing quite like Stag sirloin in Jack Daniel's sauce with fresh Chanterelles over a campfire on Elk Mountain to encourage one to continue =) I was sold for life on the spot. Dinner tonite was Chanterelles sauteed in brown sugar bacon and onions over pasta with a cheese and tomato sauce. Sure sounds better than mac and cheese with mushrooms and ketchup.

Tastes better too.