You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The planetary fungal mass part 2.

in #mushrooms5 years ago (edited)

There are lobsters out there, for sure! Here's some I got at the Oregon coast in August. I have found them even into November. They are one of my absolute favorite mushrooms to find. They can be so different in shape, but they are easy to identify. And they can be big, nearly a pound. That's not as big as your Giant Puffball, but still nice.

xDSC03235.jpg

Here are some posts I"ve made about Lobster mushrooms:
Finding them: Walk With Me [6 - Part 2] - Big Logs, Mushroom Babies and Lobsters! - Foraging in Oregon's Coastal Forest

Identifying them: How To Eat Wild Forest Lobsters -- Lobster Mushrooms, That Is!

Cooking with them for the Steemit Iron Chef Contest: Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #04 : Grilled Squash Blossoms Stuffed with Wild Lobster Mushrooms

I should get to posting more about Lobster mushrooms. I've got a variety of videos in the works, too. You should have some Lobsters in your area, too. They really are all over the place, where there are stable forests. I've been seeing reports of them from Minnesota, Wisconsin, and upstate New York, so their season is moving south. Happy mushroom hunting!

Sort:  

Wow what a treasure trove. Thanks for the info, i might have to take a mushroom hunting vacation there during the right season.

Posted using Partiko Android

I still have ~4 kilos left in the freezer from last year, and it's almost time to find more LOL.