30 Day Music Challenge: Day 2

in #music-challenge7 years ago (edited)

Day 2: Song I like with a number in the title

Ministry: Psalm 23

I first heard Ministry in the film 'Hardware' by Richard Stanley. I loved that film, and I loved their music. Soon after I had copies of Psalm 69 and Land of Rape and Honey. I eventually saw them live with @dana-varahi, shortly after we first met. I think it was our first gig together. This was part of what was supposed to be their last ever tour in 2008. They reformed and performed live shows again after a break of only 3 years! Still, I've got to love them...

I've chosen Psalm 23 from their 2004 album as its a little more obscure than Psalm 69. Both song names are occult references. Psalm 69 directly references chapter 69 of Aleister Crowley's "Book of Lies", which they quoted as a subtitle of the album, "The way to succeed and the way to suck eggs". 23 is a reference to Discordianism.

30 Day Music Challenge.jpg

This challenge is a bit of fun, and not a contest. The idea is we find out about each others musical tastes, maybe learn some new tunes, and a little more about each other. To take part, start at Day 1 and post each day with a new tune, along with the meme image. Include the tags #music-challenge and #music and whatever other tags you feel appropriate to your post.

Optionally tag the person you copied and another person you'd like to see take up the challenge... ;)

I tag @alchemage as someone I'd like to see take part...

Sort:  

It would be much appreciative of us that cannot play the video for you to put the title of the song as a header. Thanks

Good point. I've updated it to make it more clear. The song was mentioned in the text, but a title makes it more obvious on a quick scan.

Nice idea! I'll give it a try. I hadn't listened to Ministry in years! Thanks.

I look forward to seeing your posts when you get started... :)

Cool! I found this while looking for a different cover version of your song from day 1. What are the odds? :)