Upstaged/被抢风头了 !

in #music7 years ago

The Guitar Prince of Canada:

Remember how Aladdin was kind of a fake prince, until he was a prince (or didn't need to be a prince anymore)? Well I too know what it's like to be a fake prince. Two years ago I was hired to do a gig in China's Shandong province (home of Tsingtao beer, Confucius, and kites!) as "The Guitar Prince of Canada."

It was a good paying gig, and the people who put the show on were just wonderful. I'll never know what my agent told them about me before I got there, all I know is that he told me not to speak Chinese. So I spent a weekend with my mouth shut, listening to what people were saying about me.

Strangely enough, even though I wasn't supposed to speak Chinese, I was supposed to sing Chinese songs. I was also asked to be a bit interactive. I tried practicing a pretty common pop song with the emcee, but she couldn't really get it. We decided to just cross our fingers and hope someone in the audience would come up to sing.

You'll see just who came up in the video. At that point you can clearly tell I'm going through the motions, expecting it to be as bad as it was with the poor emcee (who you can see at the beginning). But my face at around 2:08 tells the story of a decent gig transforming into an amazing one!

Sort:  

This post received a 2.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @acrich! For more information, click here!