My little Fender Practice amp

in #music7 years ago

Hello, steemit peoples, and welcome to my blog, eh!

In this post, I'd like to show you my little Fender practice amp that I bought last summer. I bought it for 20 dollars, the price was low because it wasn't working properly. I figured that if I couldn't fix it, I could use the cabinet to put a small home made tube amp into.
This is the amp.
DSCN8185.JPG

Once I got it home, I tried it out. I could hear a background hiss when the amp was turned on, but I couldn't get any sound through the input jack. I noticed that the nut was missing from the input jack and that the jack was loose. I took the back off of the amp to see what I could find.
DSCN8039.JPG

DSCN8040.JPG

DSCN8041.JPG

It turned out that the input jack was mounted to the circuit board. Because of the missing nut on the jack, the the jack had been twisted by someone pulling on the cord that had been plugged in, and it cracked the circuit board. I fixed the circuit board where the copper foil had been broken by the crack and then tested it. It worked, so I put it back together and scrounged up another nut for the jack so that it wouldn't be loose anymore.

After playing through it for a couple of weeks, I decided to see if I could find a way to plug a bigger speaker into the amp. The little speaker that is built into the amp is too small to have any real bass response, and not much lower midrange. The guitar ends up sounding tinny instead of full sounding. What I ended up doing was taking the back off again and installing a jack in the back panel and then wiring it into the speaker output wires from the circuit board. I put in a switched jack so that when I plug in an external speaker, it will bypass the internal speaker. That way, the amp only has to push 1 speaker at a time.
This is what the wiring looks like.
DSCN8043.JPG

Here's the jack mounted on the back panel of the amp.
DSCN8044.JPG

The amp sounds a lot better with a 10 inch or 12 inch speaker plugged into it. I did a video to show the differences in the sound of the amp with the internal speaker, and with an external speaker plugged in.
Here's the link to the video that I made. The video is almost 7 minutes long including the intro and outro. In case you're wondering, the guitar is an Ibanez Artcore series semi hollow body electric guitar.

The 10 inch speaker that I used is a Pyle musical instrument speaker that I put into an empty car speaker box that I had gotten last summer. It works pretty well that way. The Pyle speaker is rated at 70 watts RMS if I remember correctly. I bought 2 of them back in the 1990s.
The 12 inch speaker is a Pioneer musical instrument speaker in a home made PA speaker cabinet that I made in the 1990s. The Pioneer speaker is rated at 150 watts RMS, it's a tough speaker with a good frequency range.

Well, that's all I have for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

text divider.png

Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog, eh!

As always, feel free to leave a comment or ask a question if you'd like to.

Check out the PAL network on the Discord server. There's lots of conversations happening there, and plenty of help for figuring out steemit.
palflag-300x175.png

May the steem nuggets be with you!

Sort:  

Wow man, that was awesome! I did not expect to see modifications when I clicked on this post, and really enjoyed your detailed description of how you repaired and improved on the amp. The 10 and 12-inch speakers sounded great and your guitar is a chocolate magic Heaven. It is extremely cool that you can switch speakers as you please. I got a Mesa Boogie for super cheap several years ago, but haven't pulled it out in a while. I feel inspired to after your video! :D Thanks for sharing your obvious talent, skill, and knowledge :)

Thanks, I appreciate that!
It's always good to get inspired to get the amp out and make some noise!

Agreed! :)

Sounds great Amber, thanks so much for sharing!!! <3

Awesome mate..... Thanks for sharing. Keep up the good work.

Ohh thats nice...you made it fit again..just like my dad...he doesn't use to throw the electronic gadgets...he use to fix the problem of that thing at any cost..n surprisingly it works...:"))

So great to see you on video, watching now!!

That's a cute little amp, nice to see that you got it working, I don't quite understand what you did to it I'm not very handy but I think it sounds pretty sweet :)

Great amp @amberyooper. I am surprise with how big the sound was with the 12 inch. I would have thought that the amp could not support it, but I was wrong! Great sound! Many of these little amps develop minor problems and end up in the landfill. It is great to get one for cheap then fix it. You are an inspiration!!
Thanks for posting!
DQmPnCRpHLS6xVXhb4uDtNTetygqfquhyexDzjtcD3KWoqX.jpeg

Wow Amber, I had that amp and I deeply hated it, I also had the squier version of it, which was even worse...I still wonder how my housemate managed to sell it for 10£ when I left the Uk. Anyway it seems you did a good job here!

Sounds sweet man!, i really like the ibanez :D

Yeah, it's a really nice guitar for 300 or so dollars. Although they're probably more now. I've had it for about 12 years now. I still can't play it very well because I don't practice enough.

Nice job with the amp! I have a Marshall Valvestate 100W with an input problem. I have to fix it one day hahaha. Stay in touch my friend :)

Thanks!
I've never had one of those valvestate amps opened up, I'd like to see what's inside of them.

Respect man! I perceived you are highly talented, you’re able to make those modifications. I like your guitar 🎸so much.

Good job, I really enjoyed the demonstrations.

Thanks, I appreciate that!

This post received a 20% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @nettybot courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Be sure to go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses, scroll to the bottom of the page, and vote for @netuoso.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @amberyooper to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has been resteemed by @lovejuice courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-lovebot courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-shanehug courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Amber-yooper (about that bass) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.