David Bowie's "Heroes" 40th Anniversary

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Friday 23rd, 1977, 40 years ago David Bowie released the soundtrack called "Heroes", for its upcoming album, also titled "Heroes", which included a total of 10 songs distributed on 2 sides of the album.
bowie-1502378450.jpg
"Heroes" album cover"

Originally, Bowie claimed that its song "was inspired by a pair of young lovers he used to watch from the studio window of Hansa as they met by the Berlin Wall: “I thought of all the places to meet in Berlin, why pick a bench underneath a guard turret on the Wall? And I, using license, presumed that they were feeling somewhat guilty about this affair and so they had imposed this restriction on themselves, thereby giving themselves an excuse for their heroic act. I used this as a basis.”*

In 2003 David revealed the truth about its inspiration for the song: “I always said it was a couple of lovers by the Wall that prompted the idea for "Heroes". Actually, it was Tony Visconti (his co-producer) and his girlfriend. Tony was married at the time, so I couldn’t talk about it. But I can now say that the lovers were Tony and a German girl that he’d met while we were in Berlin. I think possibly his marriage was in the last few months. And it was very touching because I could see that Tony was very much in love with this girl, and it was that relationship which sort of motivated the song.”*
Heroes_by_David_Bowie_UK_vinyl_single.jpg
One of A-side labels of UK vinyl single

This song through the years has been receiving numerous accolades since its release, Rolling Stones Magazine named it the 46th greatest ever, while NME names it the 15th greatest.

![maxresdefault.jpg]
(
David Bowie singing "Heroes" at Live Aid, 1995

*Note: I took the quoted texts from: http://www.davidbowie.com/news/heroes-single-forty-years-old-today-57331

I hope you really like this post, there is a lot of story behind this song, if you want me to write all in another one please tell me, don't forget to give your upvote, I really appreciate that, Thanks!!

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.davidbowie.com/news/heroes-single-forty-years-old-today-57331