The Story of Antandra

in #music6 years ago (edited)

The Story of Antandra

antandra-1.jpg

Three years ago, I performed my all original music live at the Visionarium series put on by my good friends at Twentyseven Folds. I was opening for Drumspyder and Splynter. This is the very first show I played as Antandra. It really meant a lot to me, because it marked a shift from being known primarily for my DJing to having the confidence to play my music live.

Formally, I went by my other alias/side project, DJ Story. Most of the songs in the set below were created under that name, although I felt like I never was recognized for my productions, because everyone thought of me as just a DJ. Nothing wrong with being a DJ by the way. I enjoyed playing other producer's music for year and years. Just felt like if I'm also a producer, then why not choose a name that helps people to understand that I make my own music?

I chose the name Antandra, because it's latin for "An Amazon." The rainforest is something I'm passionate about protecting along with all wildlife. I've donated proceeds of my some of my music released to causes to support this kind of thing. Also, it's a play on the French word, entendre, which means "To Hear."

In the live set below, I started off my set by playing some didgeridoo which can be seen in the photos, and progressed through far out downtempo, glitchy and ambient grooves. Enjoy!

Free to listen and download, Click here.

antandra-3.jpg