Grammys 2018 take on Trump, DACA and gender equality as Bruno Mars takes home Album of the Year

in #music6 years ago

1517199312341.jpg
At the 60th annual Grammy Awards the stars took the opportunity to voice their opinions on everything from President Trump to DACA to gender equality.

Famous faces like Kendrick Lamar, Camilla Cabello, Bono, Trevor Noah and even Hillary Clinton turned up to talk politics, with host James Corden poking fun at Trump.

In the midst of all the political chatter, Bruno Mars came out a big winner for the night winnign both Album of the Year, Song of the Year and Record of the Year for his album "24K Magic."

Cabello had one of the more politically charged moments of the night when she took the stage to make a plea in favor of Dreamers, referencing the debate happening in Washington D.C. over the repeal of DACA.

2018 GRAMMYS RED CARPET FASHION

"I'm here on this stage tonight because, just like the Dreamers, my parents brought me to this country with nothing in their pockets but hope. They showed me what it means to work twice as hard and never give up. And, honestly, no part of my journey is any different from theirs. I'm a proud Cuban-Mexican immigrant, born in Eastern Havana, standing in front of you on the Grammys stage in New York City," she said to applause from the crowd. "And all I know is, just like dreams, these kids can't be forgotten and are worth fighting for."

The star then introduced U2, who appeared underneath the Statue of Liberty to perform their song "Get Out Of Your Own Way."

It was U2's second performance of the night after opening the show with Kendrick Lamar, who took the stage backed by a waving American flag flanked by a cadre of dancers dressed in military-like clothing. He performed his lightening-quick rap “XXX,” which contains some political lyrics.

Sort:  

A superb bit of writing, I have to say. Because I had just recently been aware of the daca movement, I wanted to study as much as I could about it in order to have a better understanding of what it was all about. It was rather straightforward to get excellent data at https://eduzaurus.com/free-essay-samples/daca/ , which has a plethora of information. I've now come to the conclusion that I should join the ranks of those who support our cause.