Band Recommendation: Perturbator

in #music6 years ago

This time I'll recommend something different.

For the last couple of years, I've been into some electronic, synthwave, dark wave music, and I found some pretty awesome projects from GosT, Dan Terminus, Carpenter Brut. How I got into that "stuff" is really simple. I like eighties, for its music of course, but in this case, for its horror movies. My favorite film director in horror genre is John Carpenter, not only because of his movies, but because of his scores that he made for them. To cut story short, when he left the movie business, he started playing his movie scores with a band, live. The more I listened, the more I loved it. And in the end, I began the search for more music like that, even though I didn't know what I'm searching for. I stumbled upon some of the similar artists but nothing was like Carpenter's music. I said to the friend of mine what I was looking for and one day, he just sent me the link of an album "Dangerous Days" from Perturbator.

About him:

James Kent, known by his stage name Perturbator, is a French electronic musician from Paris. He's been making music inspired by the 80's. Kent got his genre-free attitude toward music from his parents, one of them being rock critic Nick Kent. He took to the keyboards with both metal and cyberpunk attitudes. He used a variety of software synths in his productions, such as the emulators of old vintage synths like the OB-X or the CS-80.

He debuted his sound with the 2012 EP Night Driving Avenger while two albums, Terror 404 and I Am the Night, arrived that same year.



The combination of retro-techno and aggression attracted the developers of the campy and violent video game Hotline Miami, who added Perturbator to contribute to the 2012 game's soundtrack. The Sexualizer EP followed in 2013, and was reissued by the Finnish extreme metal label Blood Music.


The label also issued Perturbator's concept LP Dangerous Days in 2014 which is my personal favorite record in his discography.


Work on the Hotline Miami 2: Wrong Number soundtrack followed in 2015, then Dangerous Days' story of a religion using technology to persuade followers was continued on the 2016 concept album The Uncanny Valley.


The following year, Kent issued the EP New Model.

Kent also has a side project called L'Enfant De La Forêt.

Source: https://www.allmusic.com/artist/perturbator-mn0003262397/biography

I was blown away by this music, and I can only compare it to something like, when you first hear a band or a song and you immediately know that its going to be part of your life, and that you will listen to it until you die. I fell in love with this atmosphere. It gives me nostalgia of the 80's, even though I was born in the early 90's, weird right? Maybe because my country was so underdeveloped that we watched/listened 80's movies, cartoons, music in 90's, 2000's, who knows. In the end, I'm glad if that was the case and that I have a chance to feel like that in 2018.

So, check Perturbator out and share your thoughts! \m/

Links:
http://www.perturbator.com/
https://www.facebook.com/Perturbator/
https://soundcloud.com/perturbator
https://www.blood-music.com/store-eu/42-perturbator

=================================

Perturbator / Blood Music