MHKmusic update Dec. 12 - Dec 18.

in #music7 years ago

My neck is sore, my back hurts and I am far behind on sleep, but despite all of this I am still smiling. That is because I was able to enjoy live music nearly every day this week!


Moreland & Arbuckle at Auntie Mae's Parlor 12/8/2016

On Monday Daniel Hoyt's Literature of Rock and Roll class put on their end of semester Battle of the Bands at Auntie Mae's with Hat Trix coming out on top in the four band melee. I hope to see these newly formed bands continue to practice and seek out shows, because the MHK MUSIC SCENE is always looking for more local bands to play! Great job to all of the students who participated!

After the battle was over, the war began in full force when Lawrence based singer-songwriter La Guerra took the stage. Paul Kaboom Hunt later wrote ."I'd love to hear more. She was such a soothing balm to a terrible day. Beautiful melodies...fierce, brutal and muscular lyrics." Headlight Rivals finished out the night in signature style and later helped to negotiate a cease fire over KD shots.


Headlight Rivals at Auntie Mae's Parlor, 12/5/2016

Tuesday night I visited Auntie again for Underground Sounds, a reoccurring monthly show put on free of charge. While I don't mind paying for a show, I am also on a budget, so there was no way I was passing this one up. It was a good thing I was there too because I was able to spend the money I saved on a cover to buy the Songs About Freedom EP from Madam Groove who was performing that night with Manhattan Mob! Also performing that night was Steve Keck (aka Mr. Steve) with a solo acoustic set.


Steve Keck at Auntie Mae's Parlor 12/6/2016


Manhattan Mob at Auntie Mae's Parlor, 12/6/2016

Thursday night I was at Mae's once again (they really are carrying the music scene these days), for Moreland & Arbuckle, a high energy blues trio featuring howling harmonica licks and plenty of leg kicks. Those of us who braved the weather were not left out in the cold, but rather welcomed into the warm embrace of the musical equivalent of a raging wood-fired furnace.


Moreland & Arbuckle at Auntie Mae's Parlor, 12/8/2016

Friday night KSDB FM (91.9) put on an end of semester house show along with 60+ of their closest friends and I count myself lucky to have been among them. Four bands took the stage over the course of the night. Momma's Boy a four-piece indie surf-rock band out of Kansas City persevered though multiple broken strings to deliver a tight opening set that left the crowd wanting more. Next up was Baby Birds Don't Drink Milk out of Brooklyn, NY (originally from Lawrence), who's experimental noise-punk wiped my mind clean, clearing out all the built up gunk much like too much wasabi does for my sinuses. Third was CS Luxem and I am actually quite upset with myself because I got distracted by good conversation upstairs and only made it back down for the last song of the set. I will definitely be on the lookout for future shows with these guys because their experimental, ghost-folk, indie style is right down my alley. Luckily they are nearby in Lawrence so I'm guessing I'll have plenty of opportunities. Last but not least was Arc Flash, a duo with an astounding work ethic (they played over 250 shows this year) and surprisingly full sound boosted by masterful command over effects and loop pedals.


Arc Flash at an undisclosed location, 12/9/2016

There is plenty more going on this week, be sure to send pictures and reviews my way for next week's update!

Wednesday 12/14:

@10:00pm – 1:00am: Azul Apollo Open Mic night hosted by Manhattan Mob at Azul Mexican Bar
Support local musicians, comedians, poets and perform your favorite covers and originals!
FREE ENTRY

Thursday 12/15:

@9:00pm Daniel Dissmore & The Jazz Ambassadors at Auntie Mae's Parlor
Daniel and the Ambassadors return to Auntie Mae's to bring you some classic jazz tunes under the Christmas lights!

$3 cover

Friday 12/16:

@7:00pm-10:00pm Small Business Christmas Party at Iron Clad Coworking and Events (Wamego)
Do you own a small business and don't want to plan your own Christmas Party? Maybe your company is not having one, but you want to go to one! Come to ours - it's already planned!

Live musical entertainment by Chris Aytes & The Good Ambition, who have the self-described sound of "Elvis Costello fronting the early Who in a Springsteen tribute act in the style of the Ramones!"

Tickets $30

@7:30pm-10:00pm Smokey & The Mirror - BirdHouse Fine Acoustic Music Series at Manhattan Arts Center
This husband-wife duo blends bluegrass, early rock & roll, country and R & B with honest lyrics—what roots music is all about. They will be joined by multi-instrumentalist, Daniel Walker.

Adult Tickets $18; Child, Student, Military $11

Saturday 12/17:

@9:00pm-1:00am Clearview Band at Read's Clubhouse (Council Grove)
A 3 piece band that can play Classic Rock/Oldies Rock/Country and Originals!

No cost posted

Sunday 12/18:

@7:30pm-10:00pm Melissa Etheridge: Holiday Trio at McCain Auditorium
Rock and roll icon performs all her hits and holiday classics.

Known for her confessional lyrics and raspy, smoky vocals, Etheridge has attained status as one of America's favorite female singer-songwriters for more than two decades.

Tickets $35-$125