@mindseye-music I'm calling you out.

in #music6 years ago

@mindseye-music, I'm calling you out.


Not sure on the source for this pic but it's a copycat. Haha, get it?

I couldn't help noticing that you've started using these icons in your blog footer:

They're really cool and all, but that exact format looks... oddly familiar...

Oh, right, because it's my footer . Look, I'm honestly flattered that you thought my social buttons were good enough to use - I hoped someone would, to be honest. But I did spend a decent amount of time formatting them to fit perfectly on Steemit and a shoutout at the very least would have been nice.

But there's another thing ...

https://steemit.com/music/@mindseye-music/bkym19ev

That's the first time you used the footer. And uh, the buttons... all link to my sites.

Same here.
and here,
here too...

You get the picture. I was gonna let it slide that you took them without even a shoutout, but to not even change the HTML to link to your sites? Now either that was a lazy oversight on your part, or are you trying to pretend you're me?

Either way, I'm pretty irritated. In short, an apology would be nice, a shoutout acknowledging where you sourced those buttons from would be even better, and if you would FIX THE HTML so it doesn't direct people to ME, that would be top. Here, I'll even do it for you:


.




Have a nice day.

Sort:  

Ohh shit sorry man! You're right, I did 'borrow' your footer because I thought it looked cool. And you're right, I should have at least mentioned that with a shoutout or something like that. I'm pretty shocked myself though that the links are wrong because I made sure I changed them all! So somehow I guess those changes I made weren't saved and I have been using the wrong footer code ever since, assuming it linked to my pages. Pretty crappy indeed. Of course there would be no point having a footer on my posts that links to your pages, so naturally I did change them the first time I used the footer (or so I thought...). Anyway, sorry for the mock-up and fair play calling me out! I've changed the links now on the posts that I could still edit. And I might make some changes to my footer when I have time, just so that it doesn't look like a copy of yours.
Sorry again! Hope that settles the matter!

Thanks for the apology and for making it right. I respect you for it.

No worries, it was my mistake but I'm glad I read your post straight away so I could fix it. I enjoy contributing to Steemit, so I wouldn't want to get a negative reputation here in any way.

Lame.

Others would have gone the steemcleaner route. @ausxen is a merciful one.

I’ve dealt with people straight up stealing my songs (my vocals and all) before. This is tame, and easily made right. After all, they do say imitation is the highest form of flattery.

This post has received gratitude of 1.49 % from @appreciator thanks to: @alprazo.lamb.

Thank you for sharing with us.

Thank you for spamming