Mick Karn and Angie Bowie... cracking poetry & bass collaboration

in #music6 years ago

I was a complete bass guitar tunnel vision head until recently...

One or two bass players... and that was it!

Until a few months ago, when a friend introduced me to Mick Karn of Japan.

Mick Karn sadly passed a few years back, but along with the lovely Angie Bowie...

he left us this gem of a duet

Enjoy... :O)

Sort:  

Wow, never have seen this before. He is one funky bass-player :). The bit distorted sound makes it even more magical. In combination with Angie....wow... Thank you !!

Although I've been playing bass since the mid 1980's @verhp11... I have admittedly been a bit of a bass snob for most of the intervening period... restricting myself to a small handful of players.

It was a family member who advised me to check out Mick Karn's playing and while searching for a video of him on YouTube... I came across this beauty.

You're totally right about the slightly distorted sound... totally adds to it.

He played with a band called Japan... check them out if you want to hear more of his playing. :O)

I will beyond a doubt check him out. I like to check out as many bassplayers as possible. Gives me inspiration and a broad musical variaty. Though for me Jaco, Richard Bona, Anthony Jackson and of course Pino Palladino are true heroes. But there are so many great musicians outthere. I have postes myself some stories about some of my favorites here on steemit. My latest is about Pino Palladino, you can check it out if you like. (https://steemit.com/music/@verhp11/music-is-magic-music-is-emotion-8-pino-palladino) . I would love to exchange all about music, I think steemit is a great place for that.

Thanks !!

Yeah... I love Richard Bona.

I've not listened much to Anthony Jackson or Pino Palladino.

But I feel that I will be listening to both of them in the next week.

Many thanks for the post on Pino... going to read that now.

Who knows... maybe one day I might even make a video of me playing my bass guitar... badly... lol :O)

Churz!!

Have fun listening :) I think you can appreciate Anthony and Pino as well..
Let me know when your first video is online :)