Song of the day: Ziveti slobodno (Living free)

in #music3 years ago (edited)

I like the idea of Spread the vibes challenge posted by @edje but cannot say that this post is actual response to it since I.m not following all directions given.
Like most of my posts, this one includes music connected with the topic. I write about different topics from different standpoints and this time is quite personal.

Djordje Balasevic, one of the most appreciated Yugolsav songwriters and singers died yesterday. His songs are stories about our lives, so many people could identify with emotions and attitudes in lyrics and he was liked and respected in all countries that once were part of Yugoslavia.

Ziveti slobodno is political song, this version was made when Serbian people, after few attempts during 90.s finally managed to overthrown autocratic president. The fist sign that can be seen on flags is symbol of Otpor (resistance) and could be seen after in many other countries trying to get rid of their autocrats.
(good translation of this lyrics is out of my reach and simple translation does not catch real spirit of the songs so I.ll just give few lines of the following song)

db.jpg
photo:screenshot

Samo da rata ne bude (just that there is no war) played by the children in this version, was made short before wars begun.

Just that there is no war,
Madness among people,
The big ones offer misconceptions
They frighten us with various things
They harm every fairy tale
Just that there is no war

Unfortunately, democratic changes did not last long, after prime minister was assassinated less than 3 years later, things started to be bad again and today we are again living in strong autocratic system.

Yesterday and today we cry not just for a person, but for a symbol of some better times, times before the wars on Balkan; we cry over broken dreams, lost hopes, stolen country and sold citizens by our current president; we cry over mental and physical exhaustion, lack of endurance to fight and feeling of helplessness.
We cry over all innocent lives lost, literally and symbolically.

Will we ever live freely, free from hatred and fear, free from sacrificing our lives for greedy corrupt politicians that never stop laughing over how easy is to turn people against each other?
I would like to believe that one day we will...

Sort:  

Great question and an even better 'believe'! Also, I do think we'll be able to live more free live sometime in the future. I suppose the regime in my country is less oppressive than in Serbia, Croatia and other ex-Yug countries, but when I shall believe all the conspiracist stepping up their game in this pandemic, I live as a slave in a dictatorship run society. Not that I agree to this :)

This morning I learned from @mipiano Djordje Balasevic left us the other day. She has a nice story about him and his daughter. From the music she shared, Jacques Brell (Belgium) guy popped into my mind. Similar mood, voice and atmosphere.

Just checked her post, it is very personal and sentimental as is her choice of his songs. It is pity that you don.t care much about lyrics of the songs, some of them are better when you know and some I would not even like if there was no those particular lyrics. Djole.s music was nice but txts even better :) pity that he never had proper translation at least for some of them so no wonder that not many ppl outside ex YU knew about him.
Oh, JB interesting guy...ne me quitte pas :cry: :)
In Serbia life is not easy but foreign visitors say that is great for vacation; even during pandemics some ppl from New York were coming here and talking about that on soc med :D Was Serbia one of those 60-70 countries that you have visited?

I maybe should care more about lyrics indeed. But that side of music, is totally underdeveloped at my end. Already when I was young, I listen more instrumental music, than music with lyrics. I rarely listen to the type of music of Djordje, since such music is about lyrics. Same with all these sing/songwriter songs. Even music from the famous guys like Bob Dylan I hardly listen. In the end the music side of things is of lesser importance than the texts, resulting in quite the same music, which gets a bit boring when listen often. But it is like it is 🙃

I visited Belgrade once. For 1,5 day, attending a wedding of a Dutch friend with someone from Serbia. This experience is like what tourist will say: Great city, nice place to visit. But I realise its not easy to live in your country. I know someone from Bosnia who has relatives and friends in Serbia as well and know a bit how divided these countries are. Two decades ago I spend a few weekends in Slovenia, getting a whole different story on ex-YU and the relations between Slovenia and the other ex-YU countries. My best friend is from Croatia. Also living in Croatia is not all that easy, I learned through her and her parents (who still live in Croatia). Have a few ties into your area 🙂