Dhol & Bhangra: Spent the weekend at a Punjabi Dhol Competition! Scroll down for videos. ✨

in #music7 years ago (edited)

That Bhangra beat everyone loves so much? 💃🏻 Thank the Dhol.

The Dhol, though widely used throughout India, is mainly used in the region of Punjab. Now you know where we Punjabi's created our Bhangra beats!✨

Been missing in action the last few because I've been
spending time with my nephews in the city. - family first! 😚

They are 9 and 11, both extremely talented young men particularly in the Dhol.

💖Our little champions and very proud parents.

The Dhol is a traditional drum that is hung from the neck and beat with two curve-ended sticks made from bamboo.

The two bamboo sticks are called Dhaga and Thilli.
The thicker stick is Dhaga and the thinner one, Thilli.

My nephews have been practicing for a dhol competition on Sunday and we are beyond proud. They performed extremely well and displayed great sportsmanship!

Here are little snippets from the competition:

✨Should you know or need Dhol services for weddings or special events, do get in touch with Mum on Instagram @JessyBhram. Currently catering to Kuala Lumpur and Klang Valley. For other locations, again, get in touch with their Mum via Instagram and see if you can work something out.

My nephews were also Dholi's at my wedding and blew everyone away.
So young, yet their passion for the Dhol shines through.

These little musicians play by ear. 😫😍


Follow me @BelleKaur.

🔹Upvote and Resteem🔹

Images: 1

Sort:  

It's amazing how they are passionate about traditional music at a young age!

they are amazing at what they do!

they really are!! Though we may be biased lol but I mean, 9 and 11?? Talent!

so young and so talented. we are so proud.

i knowwwwww 😍😍

All the guys are great! Especially I liked the 3rd video!

Awww So sad the video doesnt go half an hour long. I would've watched the whole thing.

That last line you remarked.. that really blew me away. I find myself shaking my head just listening to the beat. its awesome.

Punjabis are good at Spreading Positive Happy Vibes everywhere :)

Love this!! Great to see the young ones embracing their culture.