First Attempts at Composing and Digital Music Production (A combination of review, tutorial, reflections, and original compositions)

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I got bored one night and downloaded some music making/mixing programs to try out. I'm on linux, so it's easy to find and try random software. I've never composed anything before, and haven't used any music software either. But it's cool, because I know how to Google stuff.

Unfortunately, I don't remember the apps I got rid of. But I remember it that it basically always came down to a few reasons--they were either way too buggy, constantly crashing or not producing sounds correctly, or the interface was too annoying/ugly. So I've kept Audacity and LLMS (I think it stood for Linux MultiMedia Studio), and I've been pretty impressed with both of them. I'm not ripping on Linux, I mean, I'm impressed everytime I find reliable and intuitive software on Linux because it's all free 0_0.

Anyway, I kept both of them because they seem to excel at completely different aspects of music-editing, and they were both easy enough for someone with zero experience to pick up and have fun with.

Here's what Audacity looks like, even though it's not really the focus of this post. It's really good for quick, basic and practical editing jobs. I highly recommend it for those purposes, though I can only speak for the linux version (it's available for windows and mac, but I haven't tried it on either).

AUD1.png

The interface is simple and intuitive, and I'd guess that the learning curve for basic editing is probably a few minutes if not non-existant. I did try to mix some mashups, and that's all I have to say about that. Again, that's on me, the software seems to be completely sufficient for people that have talent -_-.

I didn't really see any tools in Audacity for producing music from scratch--it could be possible, but there's probably better stuff out there anyway. LMMS, for example, is a great way to do this. Like Audacity, the interface is straightfoward enough to just jump in and figure it out while you play. Still, I've summarized the most important points in the visual aids below.

First:

LMMS0.png

Then:

LMMS1.png

I mean, that's basically all you really need to start right? The rest is just messing around with the instrument and plug-in parameters. Learning the hotkeys will speed things up, even though it's insanely infuriating that there's no undo. Like, despite the fact that I can get songs stuck in my head for unacceptably long periods of time, I can't remember a couple of notes from twenty seconds ago. It's been such a problem that I just clone an entire track if I want to try something different.

Anyway, I have almost no other real complaints. Seriously, it was actually really fun and...I almost want to say therapeutic? Like for some reason, it actually felt like I was doing something meaningful. Keep in mind, this wasn't for work and it's not really good. My guess is that a lot of us (maybe most people in modern society) have pent up desires for honest expression, because it's almost become a requirement of society to constantly repress it. It's almost like I'm getting conditioned to being out of touch with myself, so that even such a minor outlet for unrestrained thought-to-action feels noticeably alien. Or maybe I was just in an especially anti-social mood.

Really though, I think there was some truth there. Like how people report that free writing is more beneficial for them than meditation. But yea, there are definitely some parallels...I'm not sure if I'm just particularly conscious of it, but I was definitely very aware of myself noticing that I was learning about myself? Sorry, that's so terribly worded, but I don't really know how to explain it. Well, this is probably why free writing is so effective for introspection, because there are actual words with concrete meanings to examine.

Just in general, I think it's good to just pick up and follow through with arbitrarily self-imposed tasks, especially unfamiliar ones. It reminds of a really good point that Jordan Peterson (look him up, he's awesome) mentions a lot, basically equivalent to something like, what you need to find the most is where you least want to go.

Ok, that's enough reflecting. (Probably too much actually...)

Mmm...right, I didn't mention it, but youtube wouldn't let me upload just audio, so I had to make videos for these. And they sound really 8-bit to me, so I just got clips of my favorite NES games :D. So yea, randomly making up a simple, single-line melody is actually harder than I thought. I definitely have much more respect for pop song writers after this...it was just surprising how much effort is required to create an acceptable melody. How in the hell do people come up with catchy ones??? And I used to play the violin too, which is almost entirely just melodies! (so I'm probably not awesome with harmonies, keep that in mind before you judge too harshly XD)

woh, ok, I just listened on youtube and these 3 are way too loud, but youtube requires flash to edit, and linux blah blah, I'm too lazy, so all you get is this disclaimer

Yea, those three belong together. I like to imagine that if someone traveled back in time to give "Mario Paint Composer" to a terrible (and drunk) Baroque composer, that's what would happen.

In real life, I never got this far in the game...seriously though, someone agree with me that this game was made by sadistic, vicious child-haters. Anyway, notice how the melody becomes completely incoherent as soon make an attempt to add a little harmony.

Actually, I did have an interesting observation...it seemed a lot harder to try and force a melody, and way easier to create something resembling recognizable music by focusing on a single motif and then keep making variations off of it. All the tracks for this one were made from the same motif.

At least for me, when I try to start by creating a melody, it just wanders off and dies. I'm curious if it's like this for most other people too? And can talented people just pull good melodies out of nothing??

This last one's my favorite...

Did you notice that all these tracks were also based off the same motif? Also the percussion's basically the same :) But yea, I'll use the same method again and try to verify whether this technique actually helps. Something to keep in mind in case you really need to...write a song...?

Anyway, I hope this post will remind people to exercise their creativity, by force if necessary.

Goodnight!

Sort:  

Down the rabbit hole you go XD

it's cool, i'll pop my head back up every now and then :)

thanks @curie, and thank you @liberosist , i see that you submitted me XD

dude logout when you're done!

Whalepower tag initiative - 25% upvote!

This music reminds me of happy days of game cracks!

yay, thanks! :D

very cool. i've always wanted to dive into this but never had the time. followed and upvoted!

thanks, followed back!

Hi comunity steemit ... check my blog
Vote and follow me ... i follow you

you didn't follow me yet...but here, i'll start :)

I`M SORRY... FOLOW YOU.

I always wanted too but the music doesn't want me LOL

LOL i feel you XP

Nice work done blustreak.

I up voted. You deserve it.

Follow me at @Yehey
Thank you.

followed already ;) thanks!

Congratulations @blustreak

You took 40 place in my Top 100 of posts

interesting list...

damn, that's pretty cool. i guess he's basically one of the major pioneers in this area. awesome trivia, thanks!

try with ableton or fruity loop mate :) recommended daws for beginners...

never heard of ableton, but everyone mentions fruity loops. pretty tempting...lifetime updates for a single purchase o_0. thanks!

ok i just looked up daws, and i'm nowhere near that level. would be cool to get a keyboard tho :D

Hi comunity steemit ... check my blog
Vote and follow me ... i follow you

Totally agreed !especially ableton live which as a very easy and intuitive interface..love the games ,takes me right back to my childhood....

Congrats making music is lots of fun but can be time consuming.. I found FL Studio the easiest interface to learn on especially for instrumentals. ProTools is by far my favorite DAW its more in depth and you can integrate many other programs with it

Man, I really love Ableton, the layout definitely enhances creativity

really? makes me curious, i'll go check it out.

Yep, give the demo a try, you won't regret it!

Yea me too. I produce. im going to follow you to hear from yoh later.

Thanks for tutorial..i love music

no problem. that program's free, so you should give it a try if you're ever bored. it's a lotta fun :)

If you haven't Register your #whalepower membership , please do so.
( If you have, please disregard this message )
This post have been Prove Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Upvote , Reblogged , comment when ever you can.
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

I'm a producer too. I'm going to follow you. Maybe we can become friends. :)
you can listen to my music here soundcloud.com/shomoymusic ...I hope you have a nice journey as a producer.

lol i'm not really, this was my first time. and it's fun, but i don't think i have any talent for it. i heard your stuff, which actually sounds professional, so that's cool. you should post some of your stuff on steemit! I'll follow you in case you do :)

nothing called talent exists. It's just work and practice and consistency. Keep working at it if you want to go for it and thank you for listening.. means a lot. :D. I'll knock in you on steamchat sometime. Im particulaly new to the community and really like it here. Hope to see more of your feed. Have a nice day.

great post! Would love to start doing tutorials here on steemit!

you should! tutorials are awesome and well-received here.

Awesome, it's cool to see people try music for the first time, music is such a personal thing, it's awesome to see people just create for the sake of creating. Good job on the blog.

WVM David Alvarez.jpg


follow.jpg

yea, you're right on about it being personal. whenever you go beyond listening it's way more intimate.

Gave you a Threesome for the following reasons.
❶ Follow for the Linux tag.
❷ Upvote for Audacity.
❸ Resteem for a great post.

awesome, thank you :D

Now tell me you're an Ubuntu user? Bwahaha
Wait a minute, so am I these days. #ShakesHead

well..it's everywhere, and so easy to use...also i've been too lazy to try another distro

This is an amazing post. I remember using Audacity to record myself rap over random YouTube beats when I was 20. So much fun, such a good time just getting your feet wet with recording software. Looks like you've taken it up many notches with LMMS. I love Video Game music in particular, and you've done an excellent job.

Thank you ! You have invested a lot of work - I wish you success in your work. I liked it. Keep it very positive.

You know, what will happen if you tune lower, to 432Hz. I bet it will make it much more pleasant!

hah, yes, i'm familiar with some esoteric subjects ;) didn't think of it this time, but good point.

Can't help it but it sounds better to me, found no scientific evidence yet (aside from one guy who showed birds singing were tuning to 432Hz but couldn't replicate it). More interesting is maybe not using equal temperament but more perfect tunings (it means some harmonies are much more in tune while others are so detuned you cannot use them)

woh, you just blew my mind. i've never even heard of the equal temperament vs just temperament thing, looking at it now. awesome, thanks.

i personally don't hear too much of a difference with 432, but there's so much else related to that number that i assume there probably is some benefit or at least significance to it.

You are really enjoying yourself making this successful post
Keep it up
I am your new follower
Best Regards Andrei

Hahaha that's awesome that you can tell :D nice to meet you andrei, i'm following you too!

This is so cool. Now I can atleast attempt to create some music for my game development project. Thanks for sharing

nice! i wish i had worked with some developers back when 8-bit aesthetic had that first big comeback. so many memories...

haha the NES really put this over the top. very nice.

lol you know what, i'm also suspecting that, since NO ONE has spoken a syllable about the music. XP i'm not really complaining though, it was at least partially intended to be a motivational post. and my hardy ego can take it XD

I thought your notes on the DAW were well written and enjoyed reading it. I used to record a lot; pro-tools, logic, fruityloops, reaper... really I tried a lot of them. So honestly I don't care much about that stuff anymore. Like I said though, I enjoyed the writing and the NES stuff was inspired.

heh, well thank you :)

thank you for sharing

thank you for reading! :D

I'm inspired. Seems like we have something in common,i really wanna go into sound production fully. I just started with Reason. Who else as tried it

thanks, i was hoping for that. you have to position yourself to be able to take the opportunity to do what you love when it happens. best of luck to you :)

Really nice post there! I upvoted it, thought i have no power left :D

I think your observation is right. If you look on new & upcoming artists, or allread adopted artists, most of them use samples to create beats/instrumentals and all this stuff. In my opinion this keeps the ,energy' and the character of some sound.

It's much harder to create some complete new spirit/melodie than reassembling some existing stuff.

Hope you keep up posting, followed ya!
BS

hah, that's a cool way of thinking about it :D. reminds me of the pareto effect, which kind of describes how in a given population, a small minority of more talented people end up contributing the vast majority of the output. supposedly this roughly applies to almost every human activity where performance matters. i guess we can't all be famous pop-song writers :(
thanks for the follow, followed back!

nice post

dude, you have to contribute original content. i don't wanna be an asshole, but you're just posting youtube videos and ripping the description. i spent probably over an hour on this post, not including the time it took to make the content itself. i'll give you a follow and see what's up. goodluck!

i agree with you bro next time i post original content. thanks for advice

parminder, visiting users who are posting great content and asking them to help you grow without posting any thing about their content is just rude. It is also a good way to make certain they don't help you. If all you are here for is to grow your account and "make money" then i have a feeling you are going to be quite lonely and disappointed.... it is against my best judgement, but i'm going to give you some very helpful advice... You earn more for authoring your own content than you do from curation. I suggest maybe you submit a good quality post about something you enjoy, and that others will find enjoyable too... that will probably be the quickest way to grow your account.

thanks dude