How I WON 1st place on a music contest in DSound!

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys, I recently entered a contest in DSound hosted by @artzone and won 1st place! I would like to share some insights about how I created the song and talk about song structure.    

The objective was to create a song on the theme of "Quit Your Day Job".

So to start, I'm going to break the song in 4 parts: Verse, Pre-chorus, Chorus and Part C.   

Lets have a look at the 1st verse:   

Every day I wake up late, I don't wanna go to work 

Every day I cannot wait to get back home tonight 

Every day I'm on my way to make my life a hole 

Every day it's hard to say It feels just like a joke     

I repeated the phrase ''Every day'' four times. I wanted to give the idea of repetition, of a mechanical process of going to work. Also, the first line starts with ''I wake up late'', which is something everyone can relate to, so I wanted to drag the listener immediately to the song.    

Pre-chorus:   

Won't you take me out of here, my bells are about to ring 

Won't you take me out of here, I feel like I can sing     

When it comes to the Pre-chorus, I wanted to start breaking free from the idea of repetition to prepare for the Chorus. So I sang more loosely and used higher notes. There is also a change in chords.    

Chorus:   

If I quit my job I'll be around, I'll be around you more     

During the chorus I used the highest notes of the song, giving it more power and used backing vocals to enhance the harmony. I also introduced the reason why I would quit my job, which would be to have more time to stay with someone. In this case, I'm using ''you'' to create a direct relation with the listener.    

2nd Verse:   

Every day I wake up high, there so many things, so many things to do 

Every day I need a space, a place for me and you   

Back to the second verse, the idea of repetition keeps going. I added an extra bar after ''so many things'' just to repeat this phrase again.      

Part C: 

Would you come away, come away with me   

At the end, I invite someone to come away with me. Again, the use of the word ''you'' creates a direct relation with the listener. I wanted him to feel invited to also question his current situation in life and possibly change direction to a better path.     

Well, I hope you guys liked my analysis.    

Feel free to listen to the song and tell me what you think of it.

https://dsound.audio/#!/@brazilianboy/20180514t044334960z-if-i-quit-my-job   

See you next time!    

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).