Is everyone else crazy, or isit me? : The art of doubt and self-belief.

in #music7 years ago

If haven't yet read my first post, you might want to read my introduction to who I am before you read this.

Catch up:
If not Hi, my name is Butch Arkas and I am a rapper/dreamer.

IMG_1058.JPG
' Wilderness festival @butcharkas instagram '

And I am 1/3 part of the group..

The Age Of Luna
IMG_0874.PNG 'NME GIG @butcharkas instagram '

As a kid I always wanted to be a rapper in london, coming from a council estate it was hard financially and even growing up on the streets. But from young I found my love for music.

To me it was always possible to achieve anything I set my mind to, for some reason I always had that mentality. No matter how unrealistic the success rates would be, I would always try to beat the odds, especially if I loved it.

During years of pursuing my music, I realised more and more how demotivating society can be when someone has the drive to become something as unlikely as a rapper. Yet my mentality always said, to become the one in a million you have to first believe you ARE the one in a million.

This is where the question 'Is everyone else crazy or isit me? ' derives from.

On my journey I can say 85% of my friends, family or acquaintances doubted me. Always advising me to have a back up plan. But it wasn't them saying you need a back up plan that got to me, it was the way it was said. As if they already knew that I was never going to become a rapper. I'm not a naive person to not understand why they thought like this, but at the same time I always questioned why they looked at me like I was crazy.

But the doubt never stopped my self belief.

In 2015 we signed a record deal with believe digital

2016 we became adidas uk ambassadors

2016 signed a publishing deal with believe digital

2017 over 2 million Spotify hits @Theageofluna

2017 over 200 000 hits on YouTube @Theageofluna

2017 over 100 shows including festivals such as Glastonbury and wireless, toured the U.K. &a abroad, opened for public enemy, dj premier & Anderson paak etc

My self belief got me to today.

IMG_9489.PNG

I have many conversations with close friends that always supported and pushed me. Talking about many of the things my group has accomplished and how it changes society's perception of me now. It's as if they realised I'm not crazy and that they are supporting it now.

I know I'm dragging but mywhole point of this post was to say, push and push no matter what anyone says. Dreamers are the future of tomorrow and the reason why we post on steemit, because we see a better future already. Those that put it down stay stagnant and unfulfilled, then join when they see your success.

My names butch arkas and I'm a rapper/dreamer.

The Art of Doubt and Self-Belief


The Age Of Luna - Freddie 2017

P.S i would love for you guys to let me know what you'd like to see, blogs of bts or vlogs, anything really! Would love to get some free backstage tickets to my next show!

Sort:  

I love your post, thanks for sharing! I gave you a vote. I hope you enjoy it.

Thank you @completelyanon means a lot!

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This is dope man, I can relate to this on a spiritual level lol ! It's hard to see the dream when no body else sees it. So big respect for pushing through and getting where you are !

One quote that springs to mind after reading this is: It's hard to explain colour to someone who is colourblind.

Peace !

Thank you brother

You guys are dope. Do you have a following in New Zealand? They'd love you here

And it's OK, I still wanna be a rapper when I grow up!

Be a rapper!!