One of the Most Beautifully Forgotten Woodstock Artist of '69

in #music7 years ago

Bert Sommer

Born: February 7, 1949, Albany, NY
Died: July 23, 1990, Troy, NY

Before Cain and I started dating we where friends, he was always showing me some cool new 60's or 70's music I had never heard before. It soon became a hobby of ours to find some of the best 60's & 70's music not popularly known to many. He found this song called Jennifer by Bert Sommer on a stolen CD which lead us to find more of his beautiful work.

Here he is playing Jennifer at 1969 Woodstock Festival

We would play this in the car with my mom partly because her name was Jennifer & partly because we would make any excuse to get the tunes changed in our favor.


Cains most favorite Song: Hold the Light


Simple Man


This whole album is amazing

Which is why its okay I couldn't find any of my favorites to post separately.

If you don't have time to listen to it all, I suggest listening to:
"Smile" at 00:00
"Friends" at 23:02
"I've Got To Try" at 12:51
"We're All Playin' in the Same Band" at 33:20


Here is a beautiful Poem by 14 year old Bert Sommer in 1963

Depicting his "Journey" that cain and I dream of.

MY JOURNEY by Bert Sommer

If I could choose a place to go,
Somewhere around the vast, wide world,
I'd go where sunlight's beauty flows
Like water from the oceans hurled.

Where people are as pure as gold,
And everyday problems are few,
Where evil is a thing untold,
And people live like brothers, too.

At night the moon would show its light,
And shine its beams upon the land,
A brightness in the still air night,
On ev'ry woman, child and man.

This land would be an ideal place,
For everyone to live in,
If we could be as just one race,
Where every man is kin.



Bert Sommer died at the age of 41 after a long battle with a respiratory illness. He will be forever with us, I am very happy I have the ability to experience his audio. I know I missed an incredible festival in "69 where Bert played "America" which was the only standing ovation at Woodstock that year and surprisingly left Bert out of the famously known film Woodstock by Michael Wadleigh & his name was not added to the Memorial Plaque at Woodstock. Its such a shame that such a beautiful soul go unrecognized. He was beautiful inside and out!!

•.,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•.,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,.•:¨¨*

♥ I hope you enjoyed this post, content from my own research and experiences. ♥

Sort:  

WOW!
Such a great find!
I was a total stranger to the man.
Thank you. Has a Rodriguez vibe maybe?
Might wanna check out my blog also for rare music.
You might like it.
Upvoted, resteemed and followed!

yay, thank you! i'm glad you like him too =) i'll check out your blog

Thank you very much for sharing those songs. Really beautifull. I'll search for more. Sorry that I wasn't able to upvote (have to wait for 12 hours, no more steempower). But will have a look to your future's post ! Good continuation

thank you permatek! i understand =)