Head In The Clouds Festival 2021 (Day 1)

in #music2 years ago (edited)

ra99ZKIfR50uTUhRfiofj0l5x9bbiUWkqmqRxl6L.jpeg

The Head In The Clouds (HITC) Festival is a music and arts festival organized by 88rising, a popular music company. I think the HITC is usually held annually, but for obvious reasons, they had to postpone the 2020 event. I am so excited that they pushed through with the event this year. Just like how excited the fans are in seeing the 88rising artists, I am sure the artists themselves are also ecstatic to be performing in front of a live audience after such a long time. This year, the lineup includes artists that I listen to: Joji, NIKI, eaJ, and DPR Live. But I am excited to listen to the other artists in the lineup as well: CL (from 2NE1), Seori, Warren Hue, Japanese Breakfast, and Ylona Garcia (a Filipina!!!!).

HITC and 88rising

In the past, most of the artists signed with 88rising are Asians, but I think this is no longer the case since the company has expanded to include other nationalities as well. In fact, it is because of the "Similar Artists" and "Recommended Artists" features of music streaming platforms that I started knowing about 88rising. Most of the artists that I currently listen to are either fans of 88rising artists or friends with 88rising artists. Just like any other community, I love how organic the interactions are with the music community. Artists who are fans first would eventually become friends with the artists they look up to. It's such an interesting interaction to see.

HITC Day 1

20211107_121324.jpg

This year's festival is held at Pasadena, California. It's a good thing that 88rising has enabled free live streaming through Amazon Music. A lot of people who would've wanted to be in Pasadena this weekend couldn't go because of COVID restrictions in their country, so this is a really good gesture from 88rising. Today (Nov 6, PST) is Day 1 of the festival, which started early Sunday morning from where I am from. Imagine partying at 5:00-6:00am! I am currently watching via Twitch (which I didn't initially have an account on, but I ended up having to register just to watch HITC haha desperate times, I guess?). Anyway, I only got to watch DPR Live and CL, since I had to work for my part time job this morning. WORTH IT! DPR Live aaahhhhhh aside from their good looks and awesome stage presence, one cannot really deny how talented this duo is! And CL, my oh my. Queen CL has such an amazing showmanship. I would love to watch her perform live in the future.

20211107_121336.jpg

As I write this, Japanese Breakfast is performing and is in their last song already. I think the next artist to perform is Rich Brian. I know him as a rapper and content creator, and the artists that I like are friends with Rich Brian and have collaborated with him on some occasions. I am excited to listen to him in this festival!!

Preparing for HITC Day 2

FC4lLp8UUAMq85i.jfif

The lineup for HITC Day 2 lineup contains most of the artists that I really know and listen to (Joji, Niki, eaJ, and keshi). It's going to be Monday morning from where I am from, though. Maybe I should've filed a leave from work? 😅 I don't think I can focus on work tomorrow morning, with a lineup this solid. 😅 But, let's see.

(Photos are from 88rising's, Amazon Music's, and HITC's Twitter)