Disclosures, Descriptions and Memories

in #music6 years ago

Now that I've been able to spend some time perusing posts, commenting on some of them, and following some members that look interesting, I figured that it was time to post.

discussion-2822066_1920.jpg

To begin, I'm a therapist who has been involved with clients since 2006, and was a teacher before that. My work includes helping clients through relationship issues, sexual issues, coaching, and some anxiety and depression. The picture above looked like the woman was very focused on listening, which reflects what I do perfectly.

write-593333_1920.jpg

Although I love this work, writing has risen to a special place in my heart. I have some work on Medium as @RamseyTherapist and Christopher Patrick on Writer's Cafe. I used to use writing.com, but it's setup felt too clunky. Most of my work has been in poetry, but there's also a fair share of flash fiction and a few short stories. Reading other folks' work gives me motivation to work on my own, so I love to do that.

Confetti Pic.jpg

This pic is a few years old, but I look pretty close to that. Gray hair, transition lenses. I'm getting Easter egg confetti dumped on my head, and if I remember correctly it is because I'd been doing plenty of dumping myself on others.

clarinet-86157_1920.jpg

This isn't really my clarinet, but I played clarinet beginning in Junior High. My mom married a band teacher who made me practice daily, so I became a proficient player until college, when I had the competition of music majors. I was only average in comparison to most of them. It was also at that time that I decided to learn guitar, so I have a cursory knowledge of the basic chords of the guitar, and I enjoy playing sometimes.

Jazz-Jennings-Portrait-1v2-x400d.jpg

You may or may not know Jazz Jennings, a transgender female who is quite young. She's on my page because this year I've done much research and teaching on this group of people because they need an ally. In three workshops I've discussed the concept of gender binarism and the GLSEN model school policy.

And, finally, I'm not sure if that image will appear, as it is a png, but it is the Eiffel Tower. I have it in this intro because I traveled on a wonderful European trip in 2016, and it was transformative.

So, this is my first post. Thus begins the steemit treck. It is not everything, but it is a splattering. Thanks for reading if you've made it this far!