Top 10 Albums of Each Year Part 11 - 1970 (Using rateyourmusic.com)

in #music4 years ago (edited)

New decade! Loads of classics! Let's take a look.

Paranoid - Black Sabbath

image.png

Number 1 for 1970. Number 18 overall!
One of the most important albums of all time, Paranoid furthers the heavy metal sound that Black Sabbath pioneered on their self-titled debut. Paranoid opens with one of Black Sabbath's best ever songs, 'War Pigs', before moving onto the smash hit title track which reached #4 in the UK Singles Chart.

Heavy metal (and all its subgenres) is probably my favourite genre of music so this album is incredibly important to me in that regard. Ozzy's distinct vocals mesh incredibly well with Iommi's furious, sinister riffing and Ward's excellent drumming. This album definitely isn't perfect and it isn't my favourite Black Sabbath album but it is still amazing and important. Some other favourites are 'Electric Funeral' and 'Fairies Wear Boots'.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 4.20 from 30,932 ratings.
Genre: Heavy Metal, Hard Rock, (Traditional Doom Metal, Blues Rock)

Bitches Brew - Miles Davis

image.png

Number 2 for 1970. Number 63 overall.
Davis continues to impress me with more off-kilter avant-garde jazz. This album was really immersive to me. I tend to do other stuff (like writing up this!) while listening to music (heresy, I know) but this made me want to just sit there and take in the wonderful atmosphere because this album is amazing and and mesmerising.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 4.16 from 16,155 ratings.
Genre: Jazz Fusion, Avant-Garde Jazz, (Jazz-Rock)

Black Sabbath - Black Sabbath

image.png

Number 3 for 1970. Number 73 overall.
Here it is! The very first heavy metal album. Black Sabbath are the grandfathers of metal and it all started here. Black Sabbath's self-titled debut starts with the frankly terrifying title track which remains one of their best songs to this day. It begins with ominous rain followed by that sinister riff and the lyrics "What is this that stands before me". Chilling, really. (Yes Black Sabbath is my favourite song on the album Black Sabbath by the band Black Sabbath)

The rest of the album isn't quite so stunning but some other highlights include the rifftastic 'N.I.B.' and 'Behind the Wall of Sleep'. Also Bill Ward goes absolutely ham on 'The Wizard'. Incredibly influential and a fantastic record in its own right, Black Sabbath's self-titled debut is one for the ages.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 4.08 from 21,841 ratings.
Genre: Heavy Metal, Hard Rock, (Blues Rock, Traditional Doom Metal)

After the Gold Rush - Neil Young

image.png

Number 4 for 1970. Number 89 overall.
This is a sad album, but it's a...warm sadness. It's just a really nice album. Really nice.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 4.11 from 16,468 ratings.
Genre: Folk Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Country Rock

Fun House - The Stooges

image.png

Number 5 for 1970. Number 101 overall.
Fun House opens with the powerful 'Down on the Street' and doesn't let up for most of the rest of the album. Fun House is heavy in a different way to Black Sabbath and Paranoid with noisy riffs and ruthless drumming and vocals. Pure energy.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 4.11 from 15,518 ratings.
Genre: Proto-Punk, Garage Rock, Hard Rock, (Noise Rock, Free Jazz)

Led Zeppelin III - Led Zeppelin

image.png

Number 6 for 1970. Number 160 overall.
Slightly softer and more folky than I and II but just as energetic and enjoyable. I definitely prefer this to Led Zep II! Immigrant Song, Friends, Out on the Tiles, all amazing songs.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 3.86 from 21,276 ratings.
Genre: Hard Rock, Folk Rock, (Blues Rock)

Cosmo's Factory - Creedence Clearwater Revival

image.png

Number 7 for 1970. Number 204 overall.
Apparently 'Swamp Rock' is a genre. This is quite 'yee-haw'-esque but actually good 'yee-haw'. For the most part at least. 'Ooby Dooby' is quite bad. Much like the two Rolling Stones albums I've listened to for this, the first song on the album, 'Ramble Tamble', is easily the best here. The lengthy 'I Heard It Through The Grapevine' is also great though.
My Rating: 8/10
RYM Rating: 4.05 from 9,026 ratings.
Genre: Swamp Rock, (Country Rock, Blues Rock)

Bryter Layter - Nick Drake

image.png

Number 8 for 1970. Number 213 overall.
Another wonderful, soothing album from Nick Drake with lush arrangements and powerful emotions.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 3.96 from 12,930 ratings.
Genre: Singer/Songwriter, Chamber Folk, Contemporary Folk, (Baroque Pop, Jazz Pop)

Bridge Over Troubled Water - Simon and Garfunkel

image.png

Number 9 for 1970. Number 254 overall.
Oh my god that title track. The only song you need here. The rest of the album is mixed. I like some of the songs a lot (El Condor Pasa, The Only Living Boy in New York) and some not so much (Cecilia, Baby Driver).
My Rating: 7/10
RYM Rating: 3.96 from 10,056 ratings.
Genre: Folk Pop, Singer/Songwriter, (Folk Rock, Contemporary Folk)

Curtis - Curtis Mayfield

image.png

Number 10 for 1970. Number 258 overall.
Groovy. Good, but not really my thing.
My Rating: 7/10
RYM Rating: 4.04 from 6,163 ratings.
Genre: Chicago Soul, (Funk, Psychedelic Soul)

Thanks for reading! What do you think of these albums?

Sort:  

Paranoid - what a classic!

led zep 3, awesome album