Top 10 Albums of Each Year Part 16 - 1975 (Using rateyourmusic.com)

in #music3 years ago

Just before I finished writing this, rym updated to a new chart algorithm. As a result, most of the top 10s that I've written are significantly inaccurate now. I'll be using the new algorithm from 1976 onwards obviously.

Wish You Were Here - Pink Floyd

image.png

Number 1 for 1975. Number 4 overall! (Now Number 3 with the new algorithm)
This is my favourite Pink Floyd album. 'Shine On You Crazy Diamond' and the title track are perfect and 'Have a Cigar' is also amazing. 'Welcome to the Machine' also grew on me this time around (even despite the ridiculously cheesy synths). Just an incredible prog rock album.
My Rating: 10/10
RYM Rating: 4.29 from 42,230 ratings.
Genre: Progressive Rock, Art Rock, (Psychedelic Rock)

Blood on the Tracks - Bob Dylan

image.png

Number 2 for 1975. Number 73 overall.
I do like Bob Dylan but not massively so. This is no exception. It's more of the same, where the same is great but not amazing singer/songwriter folk rock. Very enjoyable but nothing I'd revisit much. The one exception is the beautiful and painfully heartbreaking 'If You See Her, Say Hello' which is unbelievably emotional.
My Rating: 8/10
RYM Rating: 4.17 from 17,309 ratings.
Genre: Singer/Songwriter, Folk Rock, (Contemporary Folk)

Another Green World - Eno

image.png

Number 3 for 1975. Number 107 overall.
Yep this is definitely my favourite of Eno's rock albums. Weird and wonderful effects, creative songs. I love the electronic elements throughout as well. Eno has his start in ambient music here with the atmospheric 'In Dark Trees', 'The Big Ship' and 'Becalmed' that are absolutely gorgeous, among others. This is such a gorgeous album, incredibly serene.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 4.02 from 16,200 ratings.
Genre: Art Rock, (Electronic, Ambient, Art Pop)

Physical Graffiti - Led Zeppelin

image.png

Number 4 for 1975. Number 166 overall.
As I write this I'm not halfway through yet (a problem since this is 80 minutes long) but I'm loving it so far. Led Zeppelin also seemed to have got mostly past their plagiarism phase in this album, which is nice of them. Riffs galore here, and they're not stolen! This album has such a breadth of sound, there's heavy rockers, soothing, emotional pieces and progressive epics. It has it all. Honestly I think this is my favourite Led Zeppelin album, thanks in part to this fantastic variety. The second half is a bit weaker but still great.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 3.95 from 17,116 ratings.
Genre: Hard Rock, (Blues Rock, Folk Rock)

Born to Run - Bruce Springsteen

image.png

Number 5 for 1975. Number 200 overall.
'Thunder Road' is very grand. Love it. I liked this a lot more than I was expecting, especially with that genre name. The words 'Heartland Rock' did not fill me with confidence. But this turned out pretty great and incredibly passionate sounding. 'Thunder Road' and 'Jungleland' are the clear highlights here.
My Rating: 8/10
RYM Rating: 3.97 from 12,267 ratings.
Genre: Heartland Rock, (Singer/Songwriter, Piano Rock)

A Night at the Opera - Queen

image.png

Number 6 for 1975. Number 274 overall.
Absurdly bombastic as expected, very fun, but oddly inconsistent. It has some really fantastic stuff ('Death on Two Legs' and half of 'The Prophet's Song') but then some really meh songs like 'Sweet Lady' and 'Good Company'. This album also features the insanely popular 'Bohemian Rhapsody' which I do really love but may have heard a few too many times.
My Rating: 8/10
RYM Rating: 3.84 from 14,349 ratings.
Genre: Hard Rock, Art Rock, (Glam Rock, Progressive Rock, Music Hall)

Horses - Patti Smith

image.png

Number 7 for 1975. Number 281 overall.
One of the weirdest genre combos I've seen. I wanted to like this album but god it's quite boring. The long song(s) like 'Birdland' are just so long and repetitive and I'm really not a fan of these vocals. A lot of it is decent so it gets a 6.
My Rating: 6/10
RYM Rating: 3.92 from 12,052 ratings.
Genre: Proto-Punk, Singer/Songwriter, Art Rock, (Garage Rock, Poetry, Art Punk, Piano Rock)

Expensive Shit - Fela Ransome Kuti & Africa 70

Number 8 for 1975. Number 284 overall.
Funkyyyyyyyyyy. Not what I would normally listen to but this is pretty amazing, so funky and infectious and fun.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 4.02 from 6,084 ratings.
Genre: Afrobeat, (Jazz-Funk)

Tonight's the Night - Neil Young

image.png

Number 9 for 1975. Number 310 overall.
Not as good as After the Gold Rush, but Tonight's the Night is one of the best Neil Young albums I've heard. He really gets me with the sad stuff, man. Both parts of the title track are amazing, and definitely the best stuff here, wonderfully bookending the album.
My Rating: 8/10
RYM Rating: 3.98 from 8,175 ratings.
Genre: Country Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Folk Rock, (Blues Rock)

NEU! '75 - NEU!

image.png

Number 10 for 1975. Number 442 overall.
Gorgeous, hypnotic Ambient-tinged Krautrock, with some proto-punk thrown in in the second half too. I feel like this would be incredible to sleep to (the first half at least), in addition to being a fantastic standard listen. 'Leb Wohl' hits me with its peaceful atmosphere, with waves crashing in the background, and an ethereal piano tinkling throughout. Overall a fantastic album, although I prefer Can (their big 3 albums) in general.
My Rating: 9/10
RYM Rating: 3.90 from 7,0231 ratings.
Genre: Krautrock, (Ambient, Proto-Punk)

Thanks for reading! This one took me so long because laziness + uni. What do you think of these albums?

Sort:  

A Night At The Opera is one of my favourite albums! I played it so much on cassette.

!BEER


Hey @comparestore, here is a little bit of BEER from @atomcollector for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

ah wish you were here, what a gem in music history that is

Congratulations @comparestore! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.
You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP