You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Composing music on computers. From the 80s wave based to trackers, some of my journey...

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Oh I missed the tracker days growing up, I had to manually program my commodore 64 (did not have an app) to make sounds/music (if you would call it that). I started dabbling in making music in the mid 90's starting with samples and Acid 1.0 as well as Rebirth <3 and then the progression to that; Reason. I never heard of Renoise will have to try it out. Maybe the old tracker format would be better than drawing notes on a piano roll. Sony really jacked up Acid since they bought sonic foundry (they made great apps back in the day). So for a DAW I have been using Reaper which I like for its never ending full feature "demo" mode.

Sort:  

I programmed sound on my C64 as well until close to the very end then I got that music notation program. You could write music with it, print out sheet music, etc. Yet it sucked at making something you could actually use in another program.

Renoise is definitely tracker based but it has so much crap built onto it VST support and I believe DAW as well. I've barely scratched the surface on it because it goes so far beyond what the early trackers did.

There are some good video tutorials. You might take a peak at some of them to see if it looks like anything appealing to you. It is a lot less expensive than most music software.

I will def check it out. Speaking of expensive $499 for Reason don't get me wrong what it does is worth it racks worth of instruments and the latest makes great strides in being a flat out daw. But out of my price range $80 (Renoise) isn't bad tho.

I've used Reason before. Though it was not really my thing. I'd have to spend a lot of time with it to learn it's methodology.