Humchatter / Silicon Soul

in #music6 years ago

There's a humchatter at work, a sound that keeps following me when I go outside. It's been going on for weeks now and no one else seems to hear it....

It sounds a little like the great morphing drones that ebb and flow in the midst of an Amazonian quest; an unameable sound, a great primordial chatter that seems to speak the language of the DMT elves or maybe the sound that Dennis McKenna kept hearing in True Hallucinations

I investigated on Friday and found the source: a 3D metal sign outside one of the new College buildings which seems designed as an accidental aeolian harp. I'm going to try and record it because I think the architects may have accidentally discovered the instrument that'll spin heads in the tear-stained heat of the Summer...

Keep everything peeled.

Sort of related, in that it has a certain humchatter about its edges is this...

No idea about Silicon Soul but this song rubs me up in all the right places, some of which I'm finding increasingly difficult to reach.

More here http://somestrange.com/siliconsoul/

While the song doesn't exactly inspire devotion (it's euro-popular and little more), look beyond and in a little and you'll find what catches me: the clumps and clusters of animal chatter and homunculic squeaks that surround the song, the strangely lolloping freneticism of the drums and keyboard squirts, the fact that the whole track, even the singer, seems continually on the brink of collapse and yet strangely together and serene, like a mad Acid kid enjoying his own bad trip.